Louisiana Crawfish Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
3.5 stars overall. I was a raised on a variation of this recipe, but I gave this one a shot for something a little different. I found the suggested amount of seasoning was too salty, but the directions did say "or to taste." My real complaints are that it's very thick and I had to double the amount of water t thin it and there was way too much diced onion. My husband complained that it gave him a stomach ache. OH well, worth a try, but I'll stick with my stepmom's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Awesome, classic Louisiana recipe. I HAD to rate a 5 to offset the person who didn't understand to use the 6 cups of water for the rice! Thanks for printing this Bonniet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This was delicious! I only made a few modifications.... added about 1/3 can of Tomatoe Sauce, 2 cloves of garlic and approx 2.5 tbls of cajun seasoning (maybe alittle more- I kept sprinkling it in for taste). Everything else stayed the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This recipe was fantastic! It was so easy and tasty. Kerms it seems like what you did was mix it incorrectly. The 6 cups of water is used for cooking the 3 cups of rice. That would be done separate from the other part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Bettis Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This is a simple and delicious recipe. Crawfish etoufee is one of my all-time favorite dishes, and this one measures up with the best of them. The only thing I would change is less water (only needs about 4 cups) and more tomato sauce (I use a whole 8oz can).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I am from Louisiana, born and raised, and as Cajun as it gets. This is how we make crawfish etouffee. Everybody's recipe is a little different. Most Cajuns put the "Trinity" in their etouffee. The Trinity is a compliment of seasonings that go together very well- bellpepper, celery, and onion. My family adds celery, and the only reason we leave the bellpepper out is because I am allergic to it. Great recipe. Bon appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrankiAndPaul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I made this recipe for some friends last night, while we watched the Mayweather fight, and it was absolutely great! Well I had to make a few adjustments. It was too thick going by the recipee. I had to add water a few times. I used minced garlic instead, didn't use that much flour, used alittle more tomatoe sauce. Added my cayenne pepper and tony chachere, oh and also added some hot richard's sausage, and it was perfect...and so easy to prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Had to rate this a 5 to offset Kern's review. The 3 cups of water are to cook the rice in, not to add to the Etouffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
We made the recipe as written and thought it was a little thick as well. So, we added some water to thin as bit adn it was perfect. This is a keeper recipe. I used another reviewers hint of boiling the heads in water for the rice water, and it was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I liked this recipe. The consistency was a little bit too thick, but not overly so. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States