Louisiana Crawfish Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
What a wonderful and simple recipe. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I made this last night, it was so easy and quick and not to mention delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and used craw fish tails from the freezer section. I served with the rice and a buttermilk biscuit (Pillsbury frozen). Wonderful recipe, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA
Living In: Argyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Way too bland. Great base for an etouffee recipe but if prepared just as the recipe was written, I’d actually give it 2 ½ stars. However, I jazzed it up with the following: 1 bell pepper, chopped 2 stalks celery, chopped cayenne pepper, several dashes Louisiana Hot Sauce, several dashes 6 Garlic cloves 10 green onions 6 teaspoons Tony’s Cajun Seasoning 1 stick of unsalted butter 3 tablespoons olive oil 3 tablespoons tomato paste instead of using tomato sauce With the above additions, I give it a solid 4 stars. ****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was extremely easy to make, although I did think I was going to mess it up when adding the flour. But it came out great and taste just like I thought it would! Thanks for the easy yet tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I've used this recipe several times and have been extremely pleased with the results. I made the mistake of measuring the Cajun seasoning in teaspoons instead of tbsp. Using the listed amount gives a nice kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
amazingly easy recipe. this was my first try at cajun and it was wonderful! very quick and easy. the store didn't have crawfish so i substituted shrimp. it wasn't spicy enough for me so i added more tony's to taste. thanks for this recipe i'll make it plenty more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
To the user Kerms, and any one else who had the problem where to etouffee had too much liquid: The 6 cups of water is to boil the rice!! Don't put that much water in your etouffee! If you do find that you added too much water on accident try cooking it uncovered, stirring constantly over medium heat to cook some water out. Also, etouffees usually will thicken up if you let them stand. Remember that rice will absorb a lot of juice when you combine them, so you may find it better to have a little more liquid than you originally intended. As a last resort if you just have too much water, you can always add more flour by slowly stirring it in. Otherwise, this is a very solid recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
My husband is orginally from Louisiana and loves this receipe. I did make a few changes: 1 can of tomato sauce and extra garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Good, but I used tomato paste. I buy it in a tube so you don't have to waste the can and I put a lot of red pepper in it. My husband loves it hot and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Quick, easy, and very tasty. Might add some Sriracha next time for some spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UncleSkeleton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States