Louisiana Crawfish Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Awesome recipe! WAY more rice than the sauce will cover, but I love it anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This was so delicious.. the only thing I would change is the amount of butter.. it was floating on top when I was done.. and made it a little too rich.. but other than that it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I also believe that étouffée should not contain any canned soup. So, I substituted one small fresh tomato for the soup. I only use the tomato "meat." Quarter the tomato and use a cheese grater to extract the meat and leave the skin. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This is a lovely mild etouffee. I am giving it five stars because it is so easy for beginners and people who might be afraid of "cajun cooking." However, I think it needs more--I added celery and bell pepper to the onion, and extra green onion and cajun spices to the end product. This would be perfect as written for kids along with a ton of butter on their french bread! Eat it, cher!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Delicious. My hubby and I thoroughly enjoyed this etouffee. I was unable to find crawfish at my local grocery, so I substituted large shrimp and it was great. I therefore changed the cooking up a bit, I cooked the shrimp in the butter with the onions and the cajun seasoning, then removed the shrimp when just cooked, to add back in just before serving. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Excellent Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Typical recipe. I'd make it again, but I didn't find it to be spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellawray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is an awesome recpie! I actually made it with shrimp, crawfish tails, and andouille sausage. I also added a pich of Old Bay seasoning & cayenne pepper for that kick! This is an easy and good recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This 4 star was taken to a five star with a few simple changes. I added a red bell pepper and 2 stalks of celery to the onion step. Then I used a can of diced tomatoes with garlic and onion and 2 teaspoons of tomato paste instead of the tomato sauce. Then as a last step I added mushrooms. WOW...I am from Louisiana and I loved this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is a great basic recipe for etouffee. I tweak it just a little. I use chicken broth in place of water and add two chopped green bell peppers when sauteeing the onions. The chicken broth gives the etouffee a full rich flavor. I also don't measure the broth but eyeball it to the right gravy like consistency. Absolutely delicious! Also... I serve my etouffee over mashed potatoes instead of rice... If you have not tried this PLEASE do! Very yummy comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States