Louisiana Crawfish Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Delicious. My hubby and I thoroughly enjoyed this etouffee. I was unable to find crawfish at my local grocery, so I substituted large shrimp and it was great. I therefore changed the cooking up a bit, I cooked the shrimp in the butter with the onions and the cajun seasoning, then removed the shrimp when just cooked, to add back in just before serving. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Excellent Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Typical recipe. I'd make it again, but I didn't find it to be spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellawray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is an awesome recpie! I actually made it with shrimp, crawfish tails, and andouille sausage. I also added a pich of Old Bay seasoning & cayenne pepper for that kick! This is an easy and good recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This 4 star was taken to a five star with a few simple changes. I added a red bell pepper and 2 stalks of celery to the onion step. Then I used a can of diced tomatoes with garlic and onion and 2 teaspoons of tomato paste instead of the tomato sauce. Then as a last step I added mushrooms. WOW...I am from Louisiana and I loved this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is a great basic recipe for etouffee. I tweak it just a little. I use chicken broth in place of water and add two chopped green bell peppers when sauteeing the onions. The chicken broth gives the etouffee a full rich flavor. I also don't measure the broth but eyeball it to the right gravy like consistency. Absolutely delicious! Also... I serve my etouffee over mashed potatoes instead of rice... If you have not tried this PLEASE do! Very yummy comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Used this recipe twice now and it's great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lndz123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
only used one stick of butter, 3 cloves of garlic, + one chopped bell pepper after the onions cooked for a few minutes. It was a perfect first attempt and a great recipe. I am currently living in LA and this is right on the money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I made this last week and it was great! Very easy. And to the review below it is 6 cups of water for the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Those of you that are making "butter soup" with this recipe, you are passing over the first step. The rice is supposed to be cooked seperatly, the etouffee is a topping for the rice. It is an easy 2 step recipe-- I love this recipe, it is super easy to make and taste wonderful! We always make it when we have leftovers from a crawfish boil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States