Louisiana Crawfish Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
used more garlic,3-4 cloves, substituted marinara sauce for tomato sauce, used red onion, added pimento (red pepper), very easy on the cajun seasoning , wanted to enjoy without tears. Awesome!! TFM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tifmason
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I made this a couple of months ago. I did exactly what the directions said...until the end. I had to add a little of this and that here and there to get my desired taste. Overall it's a great recipe. Btw, it's way better on baked potatoes with shredded cheese than just plain rice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marshall, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was fantastic! Rich and wholesome. I hate spicy foods and I LOVE etouffee so it was great to be able to measure my own amount of cajun seasoning (restaurant etouffee is often too spicy for me). The only change I made was I only cut up half an onion and I put an entire red bell pepper in. Accidentally used a little more butter than needed and so did not use any water, but it turned out so wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RingPop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
For Kerms, I made the same mistake and it was easily rectified. I made a blonde rue, one cup butter and one cup flour, and then added it to the mixture and some more Tony's and it turned out great. I'm from Louisiana also, and me and my husband loved this recipe, even though I made a mistake. It was quick, easy, and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Awesome recipe! WAY more rice than the sauce will cover, but I love it anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This was so delicious.. the only thing I would change is the amount of butter.. it was floating on top when I was done.. and made it a little too rich.. but other than that it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I also believe that étouffée should not contain any canned soup. So, I substituted one small fresh tomato for the soup. I only use the tomato "meat." Quarter the tomato and use a cheese grater to extract the meat and leave the skin. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This is a lovely mild etouffee. I am giving it five stars because it is so easy for beginners and people who might be afraid of "cajun cooking." However, I think it needs more--I added celery and bell pepper to the onion, and extra green onion and cajun spices to the end product. This would be perfect as written for kids along with a ton of butter on their french bread! Eat it, cher!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Delicious. My hubby and I thoroughly enjoyed this etouffee. I was unable to find crawfish at my local grocery, so I substituted large shrimp and it was great. I therefore changed the cooking up a bit, I cooked the shrimp in the butter with the onions and the cajun seasoning, then removed the shrimp when just cooked, to add back in just before serving. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Excellent Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States