Louisiana Crawfish Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This was easy and great! Loved the smell of the garlic with melted butter….yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I just made this recipe for the first time. I was really nervous because my husband's version is top notch. Added a few things like a bell pepper, two stalks celery and a tad bit more garlic. My husband and kids loved it! I will definitely keep using this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bacon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This is a good recipe but I prefer to sub milk for half of the water. It makes a decadent sauce which clings to the crawfish. Also, don't just add flour and mix. You have to cook out the flour, stirring constantly, until it just begins to brown or your dish will taste like raw flour. I have lived in New Orleans and then Baton Rouge for over 20 years and these are tips I've learned along the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JWines
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Being from south Louisiana and living in Kansas it is hard to find the ingredients to make Cajun food. this recipe is pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This wasn't a home run for us. we love étouffée but I found myself without peppers and decided to give this recipe a try. We really missed those peppers in the final dish, and it had way too much butter for us. No one wanted seconds which never happens around here, so this one won't go in the keeper file. I don't usually make a recipe without tweaking it, and I should have done the same here. Thanks for the recipe to try though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
First time making it and all I can say is WOW! Fresh crawfish and fresh veggies and herbs and spices. OMG it turned out absolutly fantastic. I agree that the directions for the water needs to be better clarify. I ended up using 3 cups of water for this dish. Otherwise the directions are spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by louisiana girl
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
So easy and so delicious! Louisiana girl approves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I made this last night with a couple of modifications. I was craving etouffee but didn't have any seafood in the house so I minced up some chicken breast and added that in after the onion. I also added a finely chopped bell pepper because I had it on hand. My husband and I loved it! I served it over top fried cheddar grits....WOW! Can't wait to make it with shrimp next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Very Good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Only thing I did differently was that I added a chopped bell pepper, some celery and some Tony's. I'm a south louisiana girl - and this was the real deal! And so easy and quick! With these tweaks, it gets 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States