Louisiana Crawfish Boil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is an AWESOME recipe. I started with a pile of live crayfish that I was not sure what to do with--never cooked 'em before. Found this recipe, threw it all in a pot as described with just a coupla changes (thanks reviewers for some helpful hints) and it was AMAZING!My guests who have been to Louisiana for the real deal said mine was BETTER! Dang I'm good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummyindetummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
OMG this was the best tasting crawfish boil i ever ate. I tried HEB"s market crawfish boil and it was great until I made this recipe then it was excellent. The oranges and lemon gave it a better taste. Keep up the great work folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This recipe has become a family camping tradition we started a few years ago, this year we ended up with an extra 4 teenagers who couldn't wait to try crayfish. We make right it on the campfire in a big pot. I do throw in a couple pounds of raw shrimp and use frozen Cajun crayfish the local store sells. A huge hit with everyone, thanks for a fun and fool-proof recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Mercier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Edit on my recipe, use 40 pounds not 4 pounds of live crawfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMANKAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This made me home sick!....ThanK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laurel Hill, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Winfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Boiling crawfish is really idiot proof. It is hard to do a bad job if you keep your essentials the same every time. Always include garlic, onions, lemon, and crawfish boil seasoning. We always include a stick of butter per batch as this helps with the peeling process. Those tails come right out!! Mushrooms, potatoes, corn on the cob, sausage, weiners (for the kids) are always a part of our family boils. This is a very yummy meal with some crawfish dip, ice cold beer, and a wonderful group of people, it can't be beat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Outstanding! Combined several to get my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Being from New Orleans, I know that every family has their own special way of boiling crawfish and this recipe is close to my family recipe. We are all about the 'craw-dads' and sausage and could do w/o the other items in the pot, but we do add corn and potatoes. We've never added mushrooms, artichoke or other veggies. We do add celery stalks to the pot and a heaping bit of cayenne pepper. From time to time we also add turkey necks. No matter how you mix and match this up, keep with the base ingredients: lemon, onions, garlic, crab boil and you will be pleased with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I hope they meant 40 pounds of live Crawfish. If you are feeding people from Louisiana plan on 8 pds of Crawfish per person, elsewhere plan on 6 pds of Crawfish per person. Not a bad recipe ingredients wise, but the cooking times are way off. The recipe is best if you combine liquid and powdered Crab/Shrimp Boil as the seasoning for the water. (To that size pot add one cup of liquid Crab/Shrimp boil not a tbsp). The vegetables added are ok, there are numerous variations of what vegetables you can add as long as you stick with the main ingredients- onions, garlic, and lemon. You should add your liquid and dry seasoning combination along with the onions, garlic and lemon and let bring to a boil for 10 min. Add potatoes and corn (normal size corn on the cob cut in half or use frozen corn on the cob, remember to defrost before cooking) and cook for 10 min at a low boil not a simmer. Add your other vegetables and cook for 5 min then return the water to a full boil and add the Crawfish and cook per the following directions: Once you add the Crawfish to the boiling water, return the water to a boil, cook for 7 to 8 min. Immediately complete this next step, it is the difference between good Crawfish and GREAT Crawfish!! Once you turn the fire off after the 7 to 8 min boil time, place a 2 to 3 inch layer of ice in the pot. Yes, I said ice! (the pot size will determine how much ice you will need). Cover the pot and let the Crawfish soak for 15 min. If you have a strainer i
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I think this recipe should read "40 lbs of crawfish" not "4 lbs". I have not cooked this recipe, but I have cooked lots of crayfish and this recipe seems like a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Authentic Low-Country Crab Boil

In just 99 seconds, we’ll show you how to throw an authentic crab boil!

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States