Louisiana Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Made without the tomatoes, delicious gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I thought it was a strangely spiced mix of onions, carrots and beef in a runny sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaginCajun

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
My family really enjoyed this. I didn't have bacon drippings and didn't want the extra fat, so I left them out. I thought it was still really good. Loved the raisins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Devils Lake, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This stew did not work well for my family. It was too sweet, and leaves a weird aftertaste in my mouth. The only good thing I can say about it is that the thickness of the soup was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Tasty, pretty simple, accepts substitutions well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Brocker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I'm sorry I'm from Louisiana (bayou counrty)and my mom NEVER put raisins in her beef stew. It just seems very odd to me to title this recipe "Louisiana Beef Stew" when I've been living in Louisiana my whole life and have never eaten a stew with raisins in it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoUtHeRn BeLLe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Wow! This is the BEST stew ever!! I only had to make a couple of substitutions because of what I had on hand: added 3 small parsnips, less carrots, regular vinegar and red wine (combined to make the amount of Red wine Vinegar called for). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by di4367

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Best pot roast recipe I've tried so far. I wasn't sure if it was a good idea, just perusing the ingredients, but it came out wonderful. My mom likened it to almost having bar-b-cue. HOWEVER - I didn't follow recipe to the letter. The biggest change I made? I used a crockpot. I pulled roast out of the freezer, browned it in a skillet while still frozen, and dumped it in the crockpot, then piled the ingredients on it. I didn't have red wine vinegar, so I used balsamic vinegar instead. It cooked for 7 hours or so, first few hours on high, then on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Hall

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Delicious! The molassess really makes this recipe! I will be making this again! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I did enjoy this stew very much. It had a very nice flavour & is a change from an everyday stew. I didn't use bacon drippings or raisins. I really liked the sauce & stew poured over rice I prepared in a rice cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States