Lori's Spicy Chipotle Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This is a great lasagna! I omitted the mushrooms, used dried herbs, cut the spinach down to 12 oz. and used one zucchini. I used one chipotle pepper, per the recipe and did not taste any heat from it, lots of flavor but no heat (which is what I was after). Turned out wonderfully rich and delicious! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written and it has become our family’s favorite lasagna recipe, second place is a white chicken lasagna. The only thing I do differently now is to use fresh spinach which I saute just until wilted. I’m not a fan of frozen spinach. I wasn’t sure about this recipe at first but it is truly outstanding. The flavor is excellent! The prep time is rather long so now I spend a day making a bunch of these for the freezer so we can have them whenever we want without the hassle. I also don’t bother with the aluminum foil lining because if you grease the pan well it’s not necessary plus it often tears when serving the lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This was probably the best lasagna I've ever had. I used a whole can of chipotle peppers because I like a lot of heat in my food. If you don't have a high tolerance for spicy food you might want to try less or substitute the Italian hot sausage for sweet Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Used 2 chipotle peppers and 1 tbsp of adobe sauce for the perfect degree of spiciness without overwhelming the other flavors within the lasagna; sauteed fresh spinach, chopped very fine and added to the cream cheese; 2 zucchini's and sauteed mushrooms coarsely chopped and mixed into the sauce using petite diced tomatoes flavored with basil, oregano and garlic. Mixing the zucchini and mushroom into the sauce helped address the issue of the lasagna not having enough layers as many reviewers noted. Quite possibly one of the best lasagna's I have ever had. And I believe that says it all....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This was sooo good. Definitely one of the best lasagnas I have had in a while. I did make one little change though. I don't like frozen spinach, therefore I bought fresh one. Sauteed it, then added the cream cheese, and added a little water, so it is not quite as thick. I also added one extra chipotle chile. Didn't make it too spicy IMO, as I don't really like spicy food. Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
My husband and I loved this lasagna! I used one chipotle chile in adobo sauce, one pound of hot sausage (no ground beef), no mushrooms, diced instead of stewed tomatoes, tomato sauce instead of tomato paste, dried instead of fresh herbs, no zucchini, no asiago, and shredded mozzarella. Basically I used what I had on hand and it was great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Very good! Loved all the veggies and plenty of meat for the hubby and son! All the kids ate this, will be making again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
the only thing i did differently was add a lot more chipotle peppers (maybe 5-6)...everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Love this lasagna, delicious! I use 3-5 chipotle peppers, depending on who is eating it. With a little extra noodles, zucchini, and cheese, this recipe is enough for 2 pans. I only do 2 layers in each pan otherwise it spills over. Works out well as I always try to make an extra pan to freeze when I'm making lasagna. I used turkey sausage and it turned out great. A definite crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

No-Noodle Zucchini Lasagna

See how to make a meaty, veggie-filled lasagna that’s completely gluten-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States