Lori's Spicy Chipotle Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
When they posted the recipe, they changed it to say to use the chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (I think in some places that is all that is available) but I don't actually use those (I don't like adobo sauce!) I use the plain dried/smoked peppers Careful not to use too many, a couple should do it, as they reconstitute in the sauce, and one small pepper can add a good bit of spice. I hope you all like it; it is a real hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
My friend and I were making some meals to freeze. We made this recipe and we both couldn't wait, so we had it for dinner that night. Both of our families loved it. It was a little time consuming, but definitely worth it. We used ground turkey and turkey sausage and it was delicious! I can't wait to make it again. Also, the recipe does make a lot. We made 2 lasagnas out of the recipe without doubling it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonprehoda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Used 2 chipotle peppers and 1 tbsp of adobe sauce for the perfect degree of spiciness without overwhelming the other flavors within the lasagna; sauteed fresh spinach, chopped very fine and added to the cream cheese; 2 zucchini's and sauteed mushrooms coarsely chopped and mixed into the sauce using petite diced tomatoes flavored with basil, oregano and garlic. Mixing the zucchini and mushroom into the sauce helped address the issue of the lasagna not having enough layers as many reviewers noted. Quite possibly one of the best lasagna's I have ever had. And I believe that says it all....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was so yummy. I am not a big Chipotle fan so I omitted this ingredient and it was still some of the best lasagne I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Wonderful! Whole family loved it - even my one year old! Took forever to make - prep time was more like 2 hours if you simmer and brown everything right. Definitely worth it, though. I will absolutely make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Wow! What a great lasagna, full of flavor! This takes a little extra time but you will not be disappointed with it. Do use a dish deeper than a standard 9x13 because it makes a pan FULL of lasagna. If you do not have a deeper one use a cookie sheet covered in tinfoil on the next rack down under your 9x13. I followed the direcitons exactly except I sliced my zucchini into rounds instead of lengthwise. When I read the reviews for this the recipe submitter actually uses dried chipotle chilis but I could not find these at my local shopping places so I did use the chipotles in adobo. I used 2 but next time will add 3 or 4. They add a nice spiciness to the lasagna. I served this with Lime Iced Tea and Harvest Salad from this site and store-bought garlic bread. This recipe is a definite keeper. Thanks for sharing Lori :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Beyond excellent! So much flavor! Like someone else said, I'll never boil lasagna noodles again --that was the bonus. For our tastes, used 1 T. of the chipolte chili in adobo sauce (about 2 chilis), 3/4 t. sea salt, 3/4 t. black pepper and it was just perfect. Also, used the diced tomatoes as others suggested. Had to use dried spices; 1 t. basil and 2 t. oregano. Used 2 containers of mushrooms, Neufchatel in place of cream cheese and a slightly bigger bag of spinach. Didn't have Asiago so doubled the amount of Parmesan. I don't think it made a bit of difference using what I had on hand. This was absolutely to die for! This made one 9 x 13" and one 9x9".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I am picky about my lasagnas... but this was AWESOME! I was a little skeptical of the cream cheese, but it was absolutely perfect!! My husband doesn't like leftovers, but he can't wait to take this in his lunch to work tomorrow! I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lyd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
We made this for a dinner party for our friends. Everyone loved it! We followed the directions to the T and it came out perfect. We will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Caroline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Super yummy! My husband couldn't get enough of it. I did make a few changes and added about 5 chipotles and used a low carb lasagna instead. It came out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States