Lori's Spicy Chipotle Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Very Hearty! A keeper for company. My husband has asked me not to make regular lasagna again. I halved the recipe, only made 4 noodles (boiled before baking), 2 layers and baked in a 1.5qt oval dish. I found the chile in the mexican section of the store. I would use diced tomatoes next time to avoid large tomato pieces. Also skipped the fresh herbs to save on cost (which is the main reason for my 4 rating) - for 1/2 size lasagna, cost about $25 with all the ingredients, particularly the variety of cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethissite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I really enjoyed this. It is a bit time consuming but what lasagna isn't? Plus, it is so worth it. I used the entire can of chipotle in adobo sauce and it was super spicy. We love spice here in Louisiana though. Still the kids had a little bit of trouble with the heat but loved the overall flavor. Maybe next time I will only use 2-3 chipotles rather than 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Absolutely fabulous. Brought to a work potluck and 4 people had to have the recipe. I added generous fresh herbs, and two adobo chilis (live in New Mexico so could have added a bit more, but most people will probably be happy with one). Also added diced tomatos instead of stewed. Didn't cook the noddles, just let pan sit in fridge overnight and checked to make sure it was not too dry before cooking. (I'll never cook noodles again!). Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
this stuff is so darn delicious i could eat a whole pan. ok, maybe not, but quite a bit! you can make substitutions and add different spices or cheeses and every way i've made it, IT ROCKS! all my friends loved the little kick of spice at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Wow! What a great lasagna, full of flavor! This takes a little extra time but you will not be disappointed with it. Do use a dish deeper than a standard 9x13 because it makes a pan FULL of lasagna. If you do not have a deeper one use a cookie sheet covered in tinfoil on the next rack down under your 9x13. I followed the direcitons exactly except I sliced my zucchini into rounds instead of lengthwise. When I read the reviews for this the recipe submitter actually uses dried chipotle chilis but I could not find these at my local shopping places so I did use the chipotles in adobo. I used 2 but next time will add 3 or 4. They add a nice spiciness to the lasagna. I served this with Lime Iced Tea and Harvest Salad from this site and store-bought garlic bread. This recipe is a definite keeper. Thanks for sharing Lori :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This was excellent! I didn't have chipotle chilis, just the sauce that they came in. I put in almost 2 TBS and it still wasn't very spicy, but it gave a wonderful flavor. The zucchini was a total hit with the family. I didn't have any sliced mozzarella so I used provolone instead. For some reason, I can't get the 3rd layer into the pan, so I only had two layers. The entire dish was a huge success. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This is GREAT! I had another lasagna I thought was my favorite but this is it now. A couple minor things I did, I used an entire small can of the chipotle chilies in adobe sauce because we like spicy, and it did not make it to spicy. I used the no-bake lasagna noodles and fresh spinach I steamed, drained but did not squeez and it came out perfect! Just adds a little different taste to a great dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoe-zoe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Used this recipe the first time I ever made lasagna, and needless so say I've never made another recipe. It's excellent. The store I was at didn't have chipoltles so I used 4 or 5 jalapenos instead, and it tasted so good I still haven't tried it with chipoltles. Why mess with a good thing, right? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Terrific! Was looking for new ways to use the zucchini from the garden and this is a great new twist on lasagne. We love chipotle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
We, me and my boyfriend, loved this recipe!! we didn't add any zucchini and put about six chipotle peppers in instead of one because we like spicy food but other than that we did everything like it says and it was awesome! it makes a lot.. and like some people said kinda over flows on a 13 by 9 pan but that was fine with us! its not very noodly either but i like that to because you can taste the other stuff so much more. seriously have to try this recipe!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

American Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated beefy lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States