Lori's Spicy Chipotle Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Followed the poster's advice. Even though I love Chipotle chiles in adobo sauce, I used (2) chopped, dried chipotle peppers and added them with the garlic, mushrooms and onions. Wow.... great flavor!! I also used about 4 oz of fresh spinach with the cream cheese and just added water until it was spreadable. I fed my 4 year old nephew and my 80 years old parents and everyone in between and it was applauded by everyone! Thank you Lori for the out-of-the-box recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This lasagna is awesome! We made half without chipotle for the kids, and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
After making this recipe, I can see why it has such great reviews! The few issues I had were the same as mentioned by other reviewers: I reduced most of the ingredients by half (as suggested), and it still filled a deep 9X13 pan all the way to the brim, so I feel like some of the quantities are off. (I still have a container of the chipotle sauce mixture in my fridge.) Also, it requires more than 3 lasagna noodles to cover the bottom of a pan that size. I used cooked whole wheat lasagna, and it took 4. I would recommend putting down a thin layer of sauce on the bottom of the pan (which most lasagnas do), because even though my pan was sprayed down well with olive oil, the pasta kind of stuck to the bottom. Other than those small glitches, the flavor is excellent. The changes I made were to make it vegetarian and to reduce the fat content: I used 1 pkg veggie crumbles for the beef, a blend of fat free cream cheese and low-fat ricotta, and also used reduced fat shredded mozzarella in place of the fresh (just seemed like it would be too rich). Used fresh spinach instead of frozen, sauteed and well drained, which I pureed in a food processor with the cream cheese/ricotta. I used 4 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. Even with these changes, which made it much lower in fat, it turned out well. I would highly recommend this recipe to anyone. It is time consuming, however, so it definitely should be done on an evening when you are not in a hurry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
this is the only lasagna we make now. love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bandrion59
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Truly amazing lasagna! I used all sweet Italian sausage and no ground beef, omitted the zucchini and used 2# fresh mozzarella. Received rave reviews to a group of foodie guests. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ijamsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is the 1st time I write a review. This lasagna was absolutely delicious & full of flavor. I highly recommend it. I will make it again & again, but I will cook the lasagna 1st before i put it together. I thought it was a little hard on the ends for my personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This lasagna is sooooo delicious! I used gluten free lasagna noodles, 4 peppers and a spoonful of the adobo sauce, used jarred tomatoes from the farmers market that had basil in it already, and completely forgot to add oregano. And it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
absolutely fabulous! i used 3 chipotle peppers in adobo and it had a little kick. i was afraid at first it would be too spicy for my 7 guests.. but they ALL raved about it!!! a little labor intensive like all lasagnas, but the good thing is: it's a big recipe. i used an 11x13 and 9x11 and used 15 lasagna noodles total. will make again and again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by woadie14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA
Living In: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Oh my gosh. This was the best lasagna ever! My husband said it was his favorite out of any lasagna recipe he's ever had- even over his grandma's! I couldn't find the right peppers (I didn't see Lori's comment about using the dried/ smoked chipotle peppers until after I'd done my shopping), so I left them out. Next time I'll try it with the peppers. I also was unsure about not boiling the lasagna noodles beforehand, but since it didn't say anything about that I just threw them in there uncooked and it turned out great! As everyone else said there was a ton of food- I made 2 9x13 pans and froze one for later. But really, this was soooooo delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ljshrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This was amazing. My husband's favorite to date, he says! I had to leave out 2 ingredients though: I actually couldn't find chipotle peppers in my area so I just didn't use it and it still turned out wonderfully! I also omitted the fresh oregano because I couldn't find any. The basil is such a strong flavor anyway so I didn't miss the oregano. Next time I'll look harder for the pepper since, after all, the recipe has "chipotle" in the name. But it was awesome and I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

No-Noodle Zucchini Lasagna

See how to make a meaty, veggie-filled lasagna that’s completely gluten-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States