Lori's Spicy Chipotle Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This was probably the best lasagna I've ever had. I used a whole can of chipotle peppers because I like a lot of heat in my food. If you don't have a high tolerance for spicy food you might want to try less or substitute the Italian hot sausage for sweet Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Used 2 chipotle peppers and 1 tbsp of adobe sauce for the perfect degree of spiciness without overwhelming the other flavors within the lasagna; sauteed fresh spinach, chopped very fine and added to the cream cheese; 2 zucchini's and sauteed mushrooms coarsely chopped and mixed into the sauce using petite diced tomatoes flavored with basil, oregano and garlic. Mixing the zucchini and mushroom into the sauce helped address the issue of the lasagna not having enough layers as many reviewers noted. Quite possibly one of the best lasagna's I have ever had. And I believe that says it all....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This was sooo good. Definitely one of the best lasagnas I have had in a while. I did make one little change though. I don't like frozen spinach, therefore I bought fresh one. Sauteed it, then added the cream cheese, and added a little water, so it is not quite as thick. I also added one extra chipotle chile. Didn't make it too spicy IMO, as I don't really like spicy food. Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeutscheKoechin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marburg, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
My husband and I loved this lasagna! I used one chipotle chile in adobo sauce, one pound of hot sausage (no ground beef), no mushrooms, diced instead of stewed tomatoes, tomato sauce instead of tomato paste, dried instead of fresh herbs, no zucchini, no asiago, and shredded mozzarella. Basically I used what I had on hand and it was great. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Very good! Loved all the veggies and plenty of meat for the hubby and son! All the kids ate this, will be making again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
the only thing i did differently was add a lot more chipotle peppers (maybe 5-6)...everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Love this lasagna, delicious! I use 3-5 chipotle peppers, depending on who is eating it. With a little extra noodles, zucchini, and cheese, this recipe is enough for 2 pans. I only do 2 layers in each pan otherwise it spills over. Works out well as I always try to make an extra pan to freeze when I'm making lasagna. I used turkey sausage and it turned out great. A definite crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Made exactly as written. It was too cheesy. Because of this each of us only had once piece. We did not like the cream cheese taste and prefer Ricotta/Cottage Cheese in our Lasagna. The meat sauce was awesome however. The addition of the Chipotle chili and the Hot italian sausace made it! Next time we make lasagna, we will use this meat sauce but put it in a more traditional lasagna recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly except I used 6 chipotles. It was not spicy at all. Cant imagine how weak it would be with one! If I were to make again I would probably use like 20 peppers. I do not foresee that occurring as this was just meh and not worth the time or money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

No-Noodle Zucchini Lasagna

See how to make a meaty, veggie-filled lasagna that’s completely gluten-free.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States