Lori's Famous Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
This recipe did take a little bit of prep time but once it was made it was well worth it. These are the best cakes I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
this was the first time i ever made crab cakes, they were very good. i did not use oil to fry them. i used butter. we had my in laws over and they really liked them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
Excellent flavor, but way TOO MUCH oil in frying. The recipe calls for 1 cup and when they were done they were virtually soaked in oil. Even when I tried to get the oil out on paper towels, they were oily. So next time I will try to fry on high heat with less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Lori, really, brilliant recipe. The flavor of this recipe was excellent and I'd make it again in a heart beat. Still, I couldn't resist cooking the patties two ways. For the first two cakes I followed the recipe and fried them in a skillet as directed. They looked fantastic, but there's no mistake that there's a lot of oil there. Thinking that frying them in less oil on a griddle might be more healthy and less oily, I cooked the last four patties on a flat Westbend grill in about an ounce and half of Canola oil. I cooked them five minutes per side and they crisped up nicely and heated well through. My wife and I compared the flavor at dinner an both agreed that lighter was better. Also, I omitted the hot sauce and onion powder from the cakes themselves. Instead I added them to a tartar sauce made with light mayo (Duke's), sweet relish (Vlasic), fresh lemon juice, and a little Worcestershire. Over all, fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Great recipe!!! They take a little time to prepare but I must say that these are better than most of the crab cakes I get in restaurants. I cut down on the amount of oil I fried them in and would agree that is the way to go. Besides that, I didn't change anything - they are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
TY Lori! I used fresh rock crab from my catch, again...several hours of shelling to get almost 2 lbs of meat. I use as little oil as possible to get the job done, hot pan, cook as fast as possible at high heat of course.I can't critique much cause tis my first time making cakes but I assure you of my admiration. oh..I added / marinated 1 tsp of habenero for 1 hr in the liquid preperation, do I have your approval Lori?!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
Terrific recipe! I'd put these crab cakes against any restaurant. I made a double batch thinking they'd make great leftovers, I guess I'll have to find out another time because there certainly weren't any leftovers this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
These crabcakes were awesome!!! I used the panko breadcrumbs! Thank you Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Fabulous recipe! We usually serve carb cakes with a tomato ginger sauce, but these stood on their own. I also fried them in a light coating of olive oil on a griddle - too oily doesn't do it for me. But they browned beautifully. I used only red pepper (since that is what I had). I used leftover fresh crab from cracked Dungeness crab. The taste was SCRUMPTIOUS! Highly reccomend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This recipe is awesome. I made it exactly the same way the recipe called and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States