Lori's Famous Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SLJ6
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Hi all...I am the submitter of this recipe. I just want to share a few tips, all veggies should be diced very fine. Before you fold in the crab meat, if the veggie/binding mixture is too loose, add a little more bread crumbs, if it is too dry (which may result in the cakes not sticking together), and a little more mayo. After all the cakes are made, I lightly pat more crumbs on all sides. Yes, I do fry them, but not in that much oil as stated here. I have never broiled them, but I'm sure they are just as good. I hope this helps, and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
282 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
this is a great recipe, with one exception. i think it is always best to saute' your main veges (onions, peppers, garlic, etc.) before incorporating them into the main dish. afterall, the heat of sweating the veges is what brings out the maximum flavor in them. i did add the garlic, which i do to almost all seafood dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
These are the most delicious crab cakes I have EVER tasted. This recipe goes beyond the 5 star rating. Ever since I tried these, no other recipe compares. BIG HIT!! Thanks for the GREAT recipe Lori. A definate keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHABOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
These were great! My boyfriend has been wanting to make homemade crab cakes for a while now, so we decided to do so for a recent potluck holiday party here in New England. We followed the recipe as directed, and only changed a few things, mostly from what we liked in other crab cakes. We used real crab from the seafood section of our grocery store (16 oz.) instead of the 3 cans. We decided to use crushed Ritz crackers in the mix instead of bread crumbs (though we still coated them with breadcrumbs). Also, we omitted the bell peppers and decided to chop up onion and celery and saute them in a little butter instead (we had wonderful crab cakes on the coast once like that so we had to add it in!). Lastly, since it was finger food at a potluck, we formed cakes about the width of half-dollars which turned out great. We ended up baking them (at 375) since they were difficult to turn over, and that worked out fine. Rave reviews at the party!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
I have tried many crab cake recipes and never found one I wanted to make again until now! These were excellent. Even my husband agrees (which is amazing!). I followed the recipe pretty much exactly (except for adding one extra egg white and using less oil to fry in). I put the cakes in the freezer for about 15 minutes before frying and had no problem at all with them falling apart. I am going to try broiling them next time and see how they compare with the fried. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
These were incredible! Simply every bit as good as what you would expect to get in a fine restaurant. I bought the cans of crabmeat at Wal-Mart, and paid only $1.50 for each, making this recipe as affordable as it is delicious. I made a couple of small changes. I used Italian style breadcrumbs (all I had), and I omitted the red pepper and substituted with more green bell pepper. I served these with an mango relish that I improvised, and it was a great combination. I chopped one mango, added about 2 Tbsp. finely chopped green bell pepper, 1/2 small can of chopped pineapple, 1/2 green apple, peeled and finely chopped, juice of 1 lime, 1 Tbsp. apple jelly, 1/2 serrano pepper (finely chopped and no seeds), a small handful of chopped cilantro, and a teaspon of sugar. Pureed a small portion of the mixture, and then mixed that back in with the rest. The crabcakes had a wonderful flavor all on their own, but with the addition of the salsa, it was over-the-top amazing! Definitely worthy of serving to company or a/o you want to indulge. Thanks, Lori, for a great crabcake recipe. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBYNLEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This is by far one of the best crab cake recipes I've tried. I make it for all family holidays in bite sized appetizers. I like to use panko breadcrumbs rather than regular for the outside crumbs (I use regular breadcrumbs in the actual crabcake mix). When I make them bite size I also bake them to avoid being in the kitchen for longer than I have to. I spray the baking tin with oil olive and then individually spray each crab cake with a wee bit of olive oil and bake at 375 for about 12 minutes (or until they are slightly golden and heated through). Whatever way you make it though- the results are always the same- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Lori, really, brilliant recipe. The flavor of this recipe was excellent and I'd make it again in a heart beat. Still, I couldn't resist cooking the patties two ways. For the first two cakes I followed the recipe and fried them in a skillet as directed. They looked fantastic, but there's no mistake that there's a lot of oil there. Thinking that frying them in less oil on a griddle might be more healthy and less oily, I cooked the last four patties on a flat Westbend grill in about an ounce and half of Canola oil. I cooked them five minutes per side and they crisped up nicely and heated well through. My wife and I compared the flavor at dinner an both agreed that lighter was better. Also, I omitted the hot sauce and onion powder from the cakes themselves. Instead I added them to a tartar sauce made with light mayo (Duke's), sweet relish (Vlasic), fresh lemon juice, and a little Worcestershire. Over all, fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Absolutely delicious! I added real onions instead of onion powder plus some garlic powder and didn't add as much oil. The one thing that I would suggest though is to definetly freeze them before you fry them. It makes them stay together much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Destiny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
I made this for a dinner party last night and it was a huge hit. These were great for a party because I prepared them all early in the day, fried them and put them on paper towels before everyone sat down for salad, and then served them with grits and a crab cake sauce once they'd rested about 10 minutes. I used fresh lump and backfin crab meat and shredded it slightly. I used about a 1/4 cup of oil per skillet full of cakes (I made 24 cakes) and it seemed to be the right amount (and the key is to heat the skillet well before adding the cakes so they can immediately fry to hold together). As the directions indicate, 5 minutes cook time per side was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States