Lori's Famous Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
These are the most delicious crab cakes I have EVER tasted. This recipe goes beyond the 5 star rating. Ever since I tried these, no other recipe compares. BIG HIT!! Thanks for the GREAT recipe Lori. A definate keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHABOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
This is a great recipe. Takes alittle time to put together, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
I made this recipe for our dinner this evening. A big hit! Thanks for the recipe, Lori.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
This recipe did take a little bit of prep time but once it was made it was well worth it. These are the best cakes I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
this was the first time i ever made crab cakes, they were very good. i did not use oil to fry them. i used butter. we had my in laws over and they really liked them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Lori, really, brilliant recipe. The flavor of this recipe was excellent and I'd make it again in a heart beat. Still, I couldn't resist cooking the patties two ways. For the first two cakes I followed the recipe and fried them in a skillet as directed. They looked fantastic, but there's no mistake that there's a lot of oil there. Thinking that frying them in less oil on a griddle might be more healthy and less oily, I cooked the last four patties on a flat Westbend grill in about an ounce and half of Canola oil. I cooked them five minutes per side and they crisped up nicely and heated well through. My wife and I compared the flavor at dinner an both agreed that lighter was better. Also, I omitted the hot sauce and onion powder from the cakes themselves. Instead I added them to a tartar sauce made with light mayo (Duke's), sweet relish (Vlasic), fresh lemon juice, and a little Worcestershire. Over all, fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
TY Lori! I used fresh rock crab from my catch, again...several hours of shelling to get almost 2 lbs of meat. I use as little oil as possible to get the job done, hot pan, cook as fast as possible at high heat of course.I can't critique much cause tis my first time making cakes but I assure you of my admiration. oh..I added / marinated 1 tsp of habenero for 1 hr in the liquid preperation, do I have your approval Lori?!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Great recipe!!! They take a little time to prepare but I must say that these are better than most of the crab cakes I get in restaurants. I cut down on the amount of oil I fried them in and would agree that is the way to go. Besides that, I didn't change anything - they are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
Terrific recipe! I'd put these crab cakes against any restaurant. I made a double batch thinking they'd make great leftovers, I guess I'll have to find out another time because there certainly weren't any leftovers this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This recipe is awesome. I made it exactly the same way the recipe called and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States