Lori's Famous Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Best crab cakes ever! Didn't change a thing and they turned out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
loved the crab cakes!!!only thing i changed was I used ritx crackers for 1/3 bread crumbs in mixture and regular bread crumbs for covering cakes. So much flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lupe Watts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
excellent crab cakes!!! This is a go to dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Excellent recipe! I cooked all the veggies with the dry spices first, and it was a smash hit! I added finely chopped celery, fresh dill, minced garlic, and smoked paprika and made my own garlic-dill tartar sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franchescacooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Harrison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Use Ritz crackers instead of bread crumbs in the cakes, and dredge in panko crumbs. DO NOT pat cakes more than what's necessary to just keep them from absolutely falling apart. If they fall apart anyway as you drop them into the pan - no problem, just gently slide the broken-off part back in approximate place, but DO NOT try to mold it back in to perfection. These things need to be a bit shaggy!!! Cook until there are a few black spots, then turn, and cook again the same. Drench with fresh lemon, or lightly with lemon and with a sauce - your choice. I like both cocktail and tartar sauce with crabcakes! A final suggestion - if you're sensitive to onions (um, Pfffffft!), then substitute a bit of shallots and chives for the green onions and onion powder. Just a bit, and you get all the taste, without all the dramatic effects! All in all though, this is an authentic Maryland Crab Cake recipie! 5 stars, EASY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly, but hubby said "4 star, I've tasted better, it is good". I'll try fresh crab next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
UPDATE: MADE THESE AGAIN (AS CRAB CAKE SANDWICHES) AND WAS PLEASANTLY SURPRISED. THESE WERE MUCH BETTER THAN I REMEMBERED! :) I MADE FOUR CAKES (ONE EACH FOR MY HUSBAND, DAD AND MYSELF AND ONE FOR MY LUNCH THE NEXT DAY). WHAT I DID DIFFERENTLY WAS REFRIGERATING MY FORMED "CAKES" FOR A FEW HOURS (I MADE THESE LATER IN THE AFTERNOON, BEFORE VISITING MY MOM AT THE HOSPITAL). I THINK THIS MADE ALL THE DIFFERENCE. MY CRAB CAKES DID NOT FALL APART WHEN I FRIED THEM (IN ONLY 3/4 C. OIL - 1 C. IS ENTIRELY TOO MUCH). PERFECT! These were just "OK" for me. I like all of ingredients in these but found my crab cakes to be a touch too tangy for my liking (prolly because of the lemon juice / dijon mustard - one or the other would have been sufficient, IMHO). These were also not as flavorful as I had hoped and the crab mixture was really wet and difficult to work with. Having said this, I did form three large cakes because I was serving these sandwich-style and only feeding two adults. Perhaps if I'd formed smaller cakes as directed, the mushy factor wouldn't have been an issue for me. I still remain true to the TOH crab cake recipe that I've been using for years. Although very similar to this one, the ratios of ingredients produce a crab cake that is more to my liking. I do like the idea of coating each cake in breadcrumbs tho (my go-to recipe calls for flour instead). I might give these another whirl, but for what these cost to make, it won't be anytime soon. Thanks anyways, SLJ6! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
A very good recipe. I'd give it 5 stars but being from Virginia Beach, VA, I've had a lot of really excellent crab cakes that are hard to beat. I precooked the peppers, used a whole egg instead of just white, dried parsley in lieu of fresh and had to forego the onion powder because I was out. The cakes had a nice texture and were very tasty. My opinion is as long as you stick to the basic recipe you can alter it a lot and still have a great outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustForFun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
So flavorless, its easy to make but not enough flavor- at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
These are amazing! Thanks Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Displaying results 51-60 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States