Lori's Famous Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Everyone loved these crab cakes and said they tasted like they were at a restaurant! I made them a little too thick, so they took longer to fry. I will make them thinner next time. This one's a keeper. Thanks, Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shorty6542

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I used this dish in a family cookoff, and it turned out wonderfully!!! I just sauteed all of the vegetables first and I added fresh minced garlic and celery. In addition I used crushed ritz cracker in the mixture, and only used the crumbs as a coating. I also made a homemade sauce out of 1c. boiled heavy whipping cream, 1.5 tbs of creole seasoning, hot sauce, melted butter, and 1/2 cup of green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ap6817

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This is a delicious crab cake recipe. It is now the only one I use. I use fresh crab instead of canned, and I bake mine for about 12 minutes at 375 F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
They were ok but I feel less veggies would be better. A bit plainer would bring out more of the crab taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Lombardo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Maine, USA
Living In: Warren, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I've paid for crab cakes in restuarants that weren't half as tasty as these. Quite delicious. We used all red peppers and substituted cilantro instead of parsley, largely because of what we had on hand. Thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
These are sooo good. I'm sure they are perfect the way they are written, but I made a really fun adjustment. I used the red pepper, but instead of green pepper, I shredded half a zucchini with my standing cheese grater and put that in the mix. I think it helped everything stick a little more. Also, don't worry if you don't have some of the things in the recipe. I've made them with and without parsley, hot pepper, green onion, and old bay seasoning. The recipe is very forgiving like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
My husband loves crab cakes and I was so excited to make these based upon this recipe's star rating. Make sure you read people's reviews because almost everyone made adjustments before making them which, to me, is basically creating your own recipe not following the one given. All my husband and I could taste was pepper (and they were chopped fine) and the crab flavor was totally lacking (which is probably because it was canned, but hey- wanted to give the real recipe a shot). Don't waste your time- we're still searching for the perfect crab cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Quite good. I sauteed my veggies, didn't have parsley, forgot the hot sauce (which I will try to remember next time!), used a whole egg, used Old Bay with Lemon and Herb, didn't add the dry mustard or onion powder,added several cloves of garlic (sauteed with veggies), pressed panko bread crumbs on the outside, then cooked on the grill. Served on burger buns. Hubby, daughter,her boyfriend,and I all thought they were very yummy! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I don't know what went wrong, but these didn't taste very good at all. I used Costco crab and just didn't like the taste of the cakes. My husband said they were pretty good, but I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINDENISE21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I made these for my very picky boyfriend whose uncle is a chef. He ate every last morsel. I added a diced up jalapeno for a kick. If you de-seed them, you get just a tiny bit of heat but great crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States