Loose Meat on a Bun, Restaurant Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jules
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
this was very very good. I cut it down to 4 servings. instead of minced onions I used 2 tsp of onion soup mix and I left out the salt, it was still very salty. I like salt so no biggie for me. I'll robably cut the onion soup mic down a little more next time. used cheap hamburger buns and am going to try hoagie buns next time. honestly, can't wait to eat this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Irongators827
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
We used to have a restaurant in my hometown that was famous for this type of burger!! So glad I found this recipe. I use 2 cups of broth instead and it comes out perfect every time!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
Close to the end I added some flour to make a small amount of sauce with the meat. It was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Made these tasty sandwiches last night. They came out perfect!Toasted the bun topped with mustard and sliced dill pickles as other reviewers mentioned.I didn't have any problems with the broth not absorbing.It just took about an hour.Only thing I did was scale it down to 4 servings because there is only two of us.Great recipe!I will definitely make again??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jac75
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This is a super easy and delicious recipe. I scaled in down to four servings and used dried minced onion instead of fresh. I didn't want to cut in to a whole onion for just a tablespoon. I also used chicken bouillon instead of beef broth. It was still pretty runny after simmering for 45 minutes so I made a slurry of flour and juices from the pan to tighten it up a bit. I added some american cheese and mustard to the sandwiches and they came out so good. Tater tots on the side. Love those little gems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I make this exactly as the recipe states it. It takes at least 45 minutes for all of the liquid to boil away. It is worth the wait and my kids love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Exactly how I make mine.Love, love, love it. Yes it is a bit messy, but sooo worth the trouble. I usually use half beef broth and half chicken broth. I have also added just a bit of cornstarch or flour mixed with water just to thicken it just a tad. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita Littleton Barbee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenoir City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I love exploring recipes I've never tried, I've cooked professionaly for Years ,and could not belive how simple and delicious this was...I used half of a white onion Finley chopped ,as well as three Finley chopped garlic cloves. After I sautéed the veggies I followed the directions to the letter... the result , amazing and moist ,savory sandwiches!! I carmalized onions and topped with kosher pickles, tomato, and ketchup..I also toasted the buns...Heaven on a Bun?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This recipe is phenomenal!! I use to eat a loose meat burger years ago when I lived in Missouri. A little town called Carollton. Burger Bar had the BEST beef burgers and I tried many times to duplicate them without success. UNTIL NOW!!! I do add a little seasoning salt and serve them on higher quality buns. Also Burger Bar prepared them with mustard and pickles - that's how my honey eats them every time. The men in my family consume at least 3 burgers every time I make these. I'm actually headed to the kitchen to get started on a batch right now. Yum!!! If there is still too much liquid after 40 minutes of simmering ... keep simmering until it's gone. I simmer on medium heat instead of low and it's just the right amount of liquid at 40 minutes every time. So moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
By far the best recipe I've found yet! I will probably only use 1/2 tsp salt next time- personal preference, but they were perfect otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States