Long Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I added 1 table spoon of chicken flavor and everything else I did as the recipe says....it was fabulous.....very very good. I even surprised myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I follow the recipe to a T and it is great! it would make four really really big servings--it feeds all six of us with some left over so maybe keep that in mind as you are planning dinner. I usually serve it with homemade dumplings. Use fresh cabbage by the way, the preshredded stuff is horrible. Please do not ruin your soup with it!!! Take an extra minute to chop it yourself, you will be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
It seemed like lots of cabbage to not enough meat. I doubled the soy sauce added LOTS of extra ginger & added garlic & tiny corns and carrots and some sesame oil, but it still didn't seem TERRIBLY flavorful to me. It was pretty good, but I'm not really excited about the leftovers, so I don't know that I'd make it again. And my 3 and 6 year old didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I changed this up a little bit, reducing the chicken broth and thickening it to make it a sauce and adding crushed red pepper flakes for heat. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
So Yummy! I've already made this a few times, and agree with others that a little garlic adds a nice touch. I like it with a lot of noodles so I usually use 6 oz of "chow mein stir fry noodles", but I've also tried 7 oz of "rice stick" noodles and thought it was really good. This recipe is a definite favorite, and is a great way to use up a left over ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe! Very quick, but very tasty. I didn't have Chinese noodles and used orzo pasta instead, and it was still just delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Very easy for a week night dinner. As some reviewers suggested, I added shredded carrots, used rice noodles and added some diced water chestnuts that needed to be used up. Everyone loved it; I was hoping for leftovers, but there were none. Next time I will double this. Thanks for sharing, CORWYNN DARKHOLME. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
My little cousin loved it! She hates cabbage, but she ate this soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Love this soup. I add a ton of other veggies including carrots and mushrooms. I will add others based on what is in the fridge on that day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inglewood, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Was just ok. Soup was a little greasy from the frying of the cabbage and onion. Tasted alright but won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States