Long Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
Thoroughly enjoyed this light and easy to make soup. I changed a few things. First adding some very thinly sliced carrots (lengthwise) and thinly sliced mushrooms. I sauteed all the veggies including the green onions and the ginger with the pork. Turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
Excellent. I used a canned chicken broth by Swanson with chinese writing on the can, and I added baby corn cut into little rounds, plus a few drops of sesame oil. Very delicious, next time time I'll add different vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
Add less noodles then recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This is WITHOUT A DOUBT the best soup I have ever made. I doubled the ginger and added some garlic, a little extra soy sauce, and had to use chicken instead of pork. It was fabulous! It was all gone PDQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
A keeper - quick and easy to prepare. I had a few slices of leftover roast pork from dinner the other night so I made this recipe exactly as called for except for the pork part. I sliced the already cooked pork into slivers and added it to the soup at the end of cooking. I also added a tablespoon of chinese garlic chili sauce to give it an extra kick - but that was only a preference. Now I have a great, easy recipe to put together when there is a small amount of pork leftover. Thanks submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2000
This soup was great!! My whole family loved it. I will definately make it again, especially on a cold day. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This was a very good recipe that was also quite healthy. I did fiddle the recipe up a little, following the suggestions of other reviews and taking it a step farther. I decreased the amount of noodles, doubled the ginger, added 3 cloves of garlic, and a touch of sesame oil at the very end. The canned broth I used tasted fabulous by the end of it all! This will definitely be made again at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Simple, easy, delicious recipe. I added slivered carrots for more veggies for the kids. My 9-yr-old loved it and wanted leftovers in his thermos for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This soup was easy to make and pretty good. We added 7 large fresh mushrooms (thinly sliced), 3 serrano peppers (for heat), 3 cloves of garlic, and extra cabbage. Instead of decreasing noodles as other reviewers suggested, we increased the amount of chicken broth and added 1 TBS fish sauce and increased soy sauce to about 4 TBS. This made the soup much more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I've made this recipe dozens of times for my family, it is a favorite. Quick and easy, tastes wonderful. We do vary a few things: We add sesame oil, a few drops of chili oil, garlic, ginger, and shredded carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States