Long Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I put my own spin on this excellent recipe. I omitted the noodles, added a ton of garlic and yellow onions and carrot slivers, more soy sauce and i used ginger powder, because that's what I had. I sauteed all the vegetables except the carrot before putting them in the stock--this gave them extra flavor. If I'd had it, I would have added dark sesame oil, as one user suggested. This was intensely delicious. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This is WITHOUT A DOUBT the best soup I have ever made. I doubled the ginger and added some garlic, a little extra soy sauce, and had to use chicken instead of pork. It was fabulous! It was all gone PDQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was very, very good and exceptionally easy to prepare. I replaced some of the veggie oil with sesame oil and used 1/4 tsp ground ginger since I didn't have fresh. I also added a shredded carrot. The kids had colds/upset stomachs, and this was gentle yet nourishing. They ate it well, and we enjoyed it for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Simple, easy, delicious recipe. I added slivered carrots for more veggies for the kids. My 9-yr-old loved it and wanted leftovers in his thermos for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I thought this soup was really really good. I quadrupled the recipe which made a ton of soup. But somehow we managed to eat it all! I did not have enough chicken broth, so used a combination of Chicken broth, Veggetable broth and chicken boulion. I used a little less green onions because my kids aren't big on onions. They liked the noodles but not too big on the broth. I think it needs some slight tweeking - perhaps next time I will use a little more ginger. Also thought it was much better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Was great. My one year old twins couldn't get enough. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This soup was easy to make and pretty good. We added 7 large fresh mushrooms (thinly sliced), 3 serrano peppers (for heat), 3 cloves of garlic, and extra cabbage. Instead of decreasing noodles as other reviewers suggested, we increased the amount of chicken broth and added 1 TBS fish sauce and increased soy sauce to about 4 TBS. This made the soup much more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This was a very tasty recipe. We made it with chicken, pork and both of them together and it tasted great. I used less broth and made less "soupy", but that is my for my preference. It became a steady dish for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
I added some thinly sliced carrots and used beef broth as that was what I had on hand. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Keep the noodles. In fact, I added more noodles and less broth and also added a bunch of carrots and celery. I'm a starving student, I don't want a wimpy soup. It was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States