Long Johns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
These Long Johns came out wonderfully light and delicate...just let them rise long enough, dough rolled out very easily and they were delicious glazed with a vanilla glaze and filled with homemade peach jelly and homemade cherry-peach jam. My grandson, Liam, loved them as did the rest of the family. I used a vintage Houpt Bakery rotary Long John/Bismark cutter to cut them and it worked perfectly. Next time I have a request to glaze with chocolate and add sprinkles. Definitely worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These did not work for me. I tried everything to get them to rise. They were like sticks. Sure wanted them to turn out, as my hubby loves long johns, and this is the only recipe I have found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
These were delicious and made a lot!! I loved how easy the dough was to roll out. Will definitely keep this recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodeeK8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by T Jones
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
The first batch we followed recipe exactly. They turned out like cinnamon sticks. The 2nd time we let rise 3x size and cut wider and they turned out right. We find the glaze sticks better if you wait till they are a few hours cooled. Flavor is wonderful, even a bite without glaze is tasty. Better than store bought by far. I have attached photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
these are just like down town . but I found that you must spray your wax paper with pam or what ever. if you don't you will never get them off the wax paper without tearing them apart. also the frosting is great but I used only 1 tsp. of maple flavoring and that was perfect.after rolling out the dough I used a pizza cutter to cut them and that worked perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Carner Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kake, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
My husband is a long John lover from way back when...so while he put the kids to sleep I made these and then he fried them up. He approved- he really liked them with chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
OMG, I pulled up this recipe while looking for a donut recipe and decided to give it a try even though there was no photo for me to know what I was really making.They are WONDERFUL.soft,cakie,delicate.I glazed half of the batch and frosted the top of half,My family just loved them.I will definetely be using this recipe ALOT>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ionia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Found them to be dense, needs to proof longer. Good when dipped in hot syrup and coated with coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceanreg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
The were a bit dense. If I make the recipe again, I'll allow more time for rising and I'll add more spice. The nutmeg has great flavor but next time I think I'll add a little mace or allspice, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
I was looking for the long johns with the cream filling. However, I figured I'd try these and attempt to squirt some stuffings into it. Mine came out a little too dense for that, but as far as doughnuts go, they were good, especially with chocolate frosting. They could stand to have been wider to keep from rolling to the heavy side in the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States