London Broil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Skipped the MSG, used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, used red wine vinegar instead of terragon vinegar. Marinated for 4 nights. Cooked out on the grill. All I can say is WOW!!! Fabulous!! Even the kids were fighting over the last piece. Will make this one again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2001
I altered the recipe by broiling the meat in the oven, then topping the broiled, sliced meat with a red wine/mushroom sauce. Absolutly wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I may be one of the few people on here to give this two stars, but this just wasn't very good. London broil is a tough meat, so first off you really need to marinate it for at least 24 hours. I usually marinate it 48 hours which is what I did with this particular marinade. I used olive oil instead of veg. oil (personal perference) and since I didn't have tarragon vinegar, used a mix of tarragon and white wine vinegar (as that's a bit on the mild side). Well, with all that having been done I must say the taste just wasn't there. I'm not sure if it was an incorrect mix of herbs and spices or if the meat tenderizer (something I normally don't use) threw it off, but I definitely won't make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
This recipe is great!! London Broil's are traditionally tough cuts but this recipe eliminates that. I follow everything exact (generally use gas grill though) except I grill about 6 or 7 minutes per side...if it's a larger cut I'll wrap it in foil for about 10 minutes after grilling...this will help leave it medium in the middle and medium well on the edges for those that like it more done. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
My boyfriend must always have his london broil marinated in Mustard. I stuck this recipe into the Kitchen, Skeptical at first, we were both taking By surprise, It is amazing. I have Impressed my parents, grill master brother, and even my "mother in-law". I did make some slight changes Though: I have made this several Times and only marinate for 20-45 min. and it still comes out amazing. I cut out the seasoning salt and just used meat tenderizer, which is saltly anyway. I also up the tarragon vinegar to almost half the oil, and used olive oil. I broil the steak for about 6-7minutes a side for mid-rare. You must go out and but Tarragon Vinegar for this recipe, it's worth your time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I usually hate to rate a recipe that I have personally altered (what's the point of rating something you have changed), but I have to this time because it really was a great recipe!!! I, like others, left out the MSG...didn't have any...and didn't have any tarragon vinegar. Instead of the tarragon vinegar I added the same about of vinegar and through in a tsp of dried tarragon. The flavor was wonderful and I had lots of compliments on this recipe. I would recommend this to anyone. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TICKLEGRASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
This marinade is distinct and unusual for beef and it is FABULOUS! We grilled on our gas grill and without coals it was hard to tell how long to cook. We cooked for the advised time and the meat was rare, I think 8-9 minutes on both sides would probably be more of a medium. Very good, will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDOUGLAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I would just like to address folks who find this cut to be tough. It's very important to let it rest for 15 to 20 minutes under a loose tent of foil. After that, use a large, sharp knive and cut slices thin and against the grain of the meat. It will be tender, whatever method of marinating you use, though I always include some lemon or other acid to help tenderize. I also never use store-bought tenderizers, but that's just me. And I always grill until it's a juicy pink; great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
This is such a tasty marinade! We loved it! It has become a weekly staple in our household. I love how there's nothing really special to purchase for the recipe, mainly just pantry items and ingredients that are always in the fridge. You must try this marinade on chicken as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Great! Left out the MSG and meat tenderizer. I also didn't score it as I think that can let out some of the juices in the meat when grilling. I also replaced olive oil w/ the other. Turned a sometimes tough peice of meat tender and delicious! I've also tried this with a couple of moose steaks and let them marinate overnight...also very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

How to Broil Meats, Chicken, and Fish

Follow these four easy steps to better broiling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States