London Broil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This was absolutely scrumptious! I rarely charcoal grill beef because I don't know how to do it properly, but this cut came out so tender. My family and I loved it. Here are the changes I made to the original recipe - skipped the MSG completely, used salt instead of seasoned salt, used pepper instead of lemon pepper, used 1 Tbsp parsley flakes instead of 4 tsp. chopped fresh parskey, used 1/2 tsp. dried tarragon (that was from my garden!) and 2 tsp. red wine vinegar instead of tarragon vinegar. I marinated the steak in a Ziplock bag for 3 hours then tossed it onto the grill. It was extremely juicy, too. I grilled it to medium (no blood, but still a bit red inside).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
This is our favorite way to make london broil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Great but skipped the MSG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
OMG! This was awesome. A definate keeper. My husband and I are usually snobs about lower quality cuts of meat . We prefer the filets even at the higher costs; but this was definately as good if not better than fillet. The marinate was just delicious and even my 8 year old son asked for more. I'm cooking this again next week! I used the olive oil and the red wine vinegar and marinated for 24 hours..... yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
This is such a tasty marinade! We loved it! It has become a weekly staple in our household. I love how there's nothing really special to purchase for the recipe, mainly just pantry items and ingredients that are always in the fridge. You must try this marinade on chicken as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Skipped the MSG, used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, used red wine vinegar instead of terragon vinegar. Marinated for 4 nights. Cooked out on the grill. All I can say is WOW!!! Fabulous!! Even the kids were fighting over the last piece. Will make this one again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Wow! This was amazingly tasty! I took the advice of some other Reviewers and sub'd the veg oil for olive, meat tenderizer rather than MSG and used dried tarragon and red wine vinegar. Next time though I'll let it marinate overnight...more to break down the cut of beef than to infuse additional flavor. The dish was so good that my steak sauce-loving family didn't even break out the bottle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
My husband raves everytime I make this! It is delicious. I use 1/2 c. oil, double the lemon juice and lemon pepper, and add 3 teaspoons cider vinegar and a pinch or two of dried tarragon. It comes out excellent everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Very good recipe. I did leave out the MSG. Makes a very tasty marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Great marinade for tenderizing a tough cut of meat - and I skipped the MSG! Only other change I made was using fresh squeezed lime juice instead of lemon. A little time consuming because you have to turn the meat every half hour,next time I might try marinating overnight. Nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

How to Broil Meats, Chicken, and Fish

Follow these four easy steps to better broiling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States