London Broil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I may be one of the few people on here to give this two stars, but this just wasn't very good. London broil is a tough meat, so first off you really need to marinate it for at least 24 hours. I usually marinate it 48 hours which is what I did with this particular marinade. I used olive oil instead of veg. oil (personal perference) and since I didn't have tarragon vinegar, used a mix of tarragon and white wine vinegar (as that's a bit on the mild side). Well, with all that having been done I must say the taste just wasn't there. I'm not sure if it was an incorrect mix of herbs and spices or if the meat tenderizer (something I normally don't use) threw it off, but I definitely won't make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This worked great for me. Yes MSG is used as a tenderizer. I need to plan for a gang though so I bought a 5 lb cut of meat, doubled the wet and kept the dry ingredients the same except a bit more lemon pepper. I also suggest lime juice instead of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I really don't much care for the Top Round London Broil cut as it is just so tough, but if you need to cook some, this is the recipe to try. I scored the meat and marinated it for 8 hours. MSG gives me headaches so I skipped the meat tenderizer/MSG altogether and just marinated longer hoping the acid ingredients would help tenderize it a little more over time. I got very good results (still a little tough because it is what it is) and great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Absolutely wonderful! I'm not much of a steak cooker, but I was even impressed with the outcome of this recipe. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I thought this recipe was ok, but I admittedly didn't have 3 of the ingredients (meat tenderizer, msg and tarragon vinegar). Aside from the tenderizer (it should be in the ingredient list! I would have bought some), I don't think I'll ever have the other two things in my pantry. I subbed soy sauce for the msg and some white vinegar plus marjoram for the tarr vinegar. The suggested cook time gave a perfect medium rare and the broil was still only slightly chewy, which was fine for this cut of meat. The 4 stars was mainly for the directions on how to prepare the steak. Overall I still prefer the "best steak marinade" recipe on this site for taste and convenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Where to start? Directions are bit confusing. It lists MSG in the ingredients but does not mention it in the directions. The directions say "meat tenderizer" which is not listed in the ingredients. I'm no expert on MSG and saw someone say they used meat tenderizer "instead" of MSG, so I drew the conclusion the MSG is a tenderizer. It would help if it were called that in the directions. So I made it under that assumption, as is, with canola oil, and I "made" tarragon vinegar by adding some tarragon to distilled white vinegar. (I see many people used red wine vinegar but I looked it up and seems tarragon is made from either malt or distilled white.) The flavor was good, but it didn't appear to do anything wonderful to the meat cut. It's possible I screwed up on thinking MSG was going to be a tenderizer, but if so, that's the recipe's fault. I also read (after I made it) NOT to score a tough cut cause it makes it worse, tho I can see the logic of it allowing the marinade to get INTO the meat. It's not that it was bad (or it wouldn't have been a 4), but it also wasn't good & tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Wow, this turned out so tasty. It was a big hit with the fam. I did leave out the MSG and used red wine vinegar instead of tarragon vinegar, and olive oil. I also added 1 tsp of oregano and 1 tsp of tarragon and two packets of splenda to the marinade. Cooked on medium heat on grill for 8-10 minutes each side. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artstar

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I used top round steaks and I didn't have meat tenderizer, MSG, lemon pepper, fresh garlic or parsley, or tarragon vinegar. So this isn't the most accurate review of the recipe. I did puncture the meat and throw it in a gallon-size bag with all the ingredients, substituting dried garlic and parsley and white wine vinegar. I let it marinate 2 hours, grilled the steaks about 5 min/side and they were mouth-watering! Everyone from my 1-yr-old to my husband loved them. Will make this agian and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIDSUMMERMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I liked it; my husband did not. I think I will try it in the crock pot next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
The marinade was very good, but the meat was a little tough. That certainly could have been my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

How to Broil Meats, Chicken, and Fish

Follow these four easy steps to better broiling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States