London Broil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This is a good recipe, however, there are few enhancements: 1. Never use meat tenderizer. In fact, do not use any pre-processed spices or foods in any recipe. 2. Always use grass-fed, grass-finished beef. 3. Never oil the grill itself. This is dangerous and contributes nothing to the taste and texture of the meat, in fact, there is a negative impact to taste and texture from oiling the "grate". If anything should be oiled, it is the food, not the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Followed the recipe as written except for the tenderizer. Thought the flavor was okay. The lemon pepper was very prominent and will leave it out if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
My family grew up on London Broil at every picnic, family bbq, etc. I've always loved it - but this recipe puts my Mom's to SHAME (sorry Mom!!) My family LOVES - LOVES - LOVES this recipe! So much so that my siblings are now asking for it and nobody uses Mom's anymore. I use fresh squeezed lemon juice instead of bottled (about 1 large or 2 small for 2lbs of meat) and fresh chopped parsley. If you have a hard time finding tarragon vinegar (sometimes I can't) white wine vinegar and tarragon spices will work, too. I don't see any reason to tenderize the meat - just score it and let it marinade - overnight is best but at least 4-6 hours if possible. Thanks so much for this FABULOUS recipe, Stella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
EXCELLENT! I made this recipe EXACTLY as it said, and it was the best London Broil we have ever had. I marinaded it a little less then three hours, as I didn't have the time. I cooked it on a hot gas grill five minutes per side. It was a perfect medium rare and melted in my mouth. I couldn't believe it was London Broil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Allyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
We used red wine with a teaspoon of dried tarragon in place of the vinegar, steak rub instead of tenderizer, and 1/2 teaspoon of sea salt instead of seasoning salt. We allowed the meat to marinate for three days in the fridge (in a gallon-size zip baggie) before grilling for 7 minutes per side (it was a 2-1/2 lb cut). It was PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This was amazing but i made a few changes: mcormicks steak seasoning instead of lemon pepper, balsamic vinegar instead of tarragon, and olive oil instead of vegetable, and this must have been the most amazing london broil Ive ever tried! it was my first time grilling one and it was worth it, i don't know how to go back
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
We loved this. I thought it would be tarter, but it was mild. I might add more lemon juice the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This marinade is great for more than just London Broil - I even used it on Chicken!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kikokiwi
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
My husband was definitely not keen on the idea of putting vinegar in the marinade, but it was absolutely wonderful. I have made this recipe like 10 times since I found it 3 months ago. I used apple cider vinegar since I did not have tarragon vinegar and it was super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kikokiwi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: St. Marys, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Ok I'm rating the marinade here. I loved it! Works great on skinless, boneless chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGGIEEATER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Freeland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

How to Broil Meats, Chicken, and Fish

Follow these four easy steps to better broiling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States