London Broil I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I am horrible at grilling and usually eat my meat well done where my husband likes his medium rare. After reading the comments on this I thought I would give it a try for our 20th Anniversary dinner. Let me say, it was perfect. I followed the recipe to a T and was thrilled that I actually like medium rare london broil. The marinade was so good and I only had an hour to let it sit. Can't wait to use this and let it sit over night. It was cooked to perfection. Thanks for the great recipe and turning my husband back onto london broil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Thanks previous reviewers, I used 1/4 soy sauce and 1/4 Worcestershire, added extra garlic and two tablespoons of brown sugar, reduced the sauce and poured over and loved it. The flavor was incredible. 2 days in a ziplock bag did the trick. We love spicy so I added two, ok three dashes of cayenne pepper for some kick. Will be making this with flank steak soon. I do think the meat was a little chewy, not tough so I may try vinegar nx time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Best beef marinade I've used. I put the meat in a cooking dish to marinate, then popped it on the cool side of the grill with a foil covering. Midway through, I put the meat on the hot side for a good sear on both sides, them back onto the cool side in foil until it was done. Since the marinade was now "cooked", I used it as a sauce for the meat. Combined with the dripping from the foil it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Made for Father's Day and this was such a hit, we ran out. All the dads, and everyone else, loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Briese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Culinary experts have proven that marinades are ineffective in tenderizing meats; they really only infuse flavor. What *does* tenderize meat is salting or brining. Salt denatures proteins, making them unbind and form looser bonds. That's why this marinade works well - because of the soy sauce. The salt in soy sauce acts like a brine, helping the meat retain moisture during cooking and making it more tender. So you definitely don't want to reduce the amount of soy sauce in this recipe, as it is the tenderizing agent. But you also don't need to marinate for as long as eight hours; you will achieve very satisfactory results by marinating for one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Wasn't sure how to prepare the london broil I had marinating a la Montreal. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Echinops

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Malone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This was really great. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that it was very salty. I guess low sodium soy sauce would fix that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Tried it last night on a New York strip steak. I am never sure of the quality of the steak as we have been so disappointed in prior attempts to make a "great" steak at home. That was until last night. We were amazed how tender and flavorful the meat was and will make this marinade again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Some people making this may be slicing the meat "with the grain". You should slice "against" the grain. If you see long strands of meat when you slice it, flip it over! Slice it at an angle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I agree with all the 4 star ratings. I have tried to make London Broil a few times before and it always turned out like shoe leather. WOW was I wrong, this recipe made a true believer out of me. I did sprinkle some meat tenderizer on the meat(just because of the bad experience I had with this cut of beef.) I marinated for 24 hrs, Grilled for 3 to 5 each side, for med. rare and it was Wonderful. I let my husband take all the credit,(after all he was the one doing the grilling).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

How to Grill Steaks

See the simple trick to grilling tender, juicy steaks every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States