London Broil I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Made for Father's Day and this was such a hit, we ran out. All the dads, and everyone else, loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Briese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Culinary experts have proven that marinades are ineffective in tenderizing meats; they really only infuse flavor. What *does* tenderize meat is salting or brining. Salt denatures proteins, making them unbind and form looser bonds. That's why this marinade works well - because of the soy sauce. The salt in soy sauce acts like a brine, helping the meat retain moisture during cooking and making it more tender. So you definitely don't want to reduce the amount of soy sauce in this recipe, as it is the tenderizing agent. But you also don't need to marinate for as long as eight hours; you will achieve very satisfactory results by marinating for one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Wasn't sure how to prepare the london broil I had marinating a la Montreal. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Echinops

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Malone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This was really great. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that it was very salty. I guess low sodium soy sauce would fix that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Tried it last night on a New York strip steak. I am never sure of the quality of the steak as we have been so disappointed in prior attempts to make a "great" steak at home. That was until last night. We were amazed how tender and flavorful the meat was and will make this marinade again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Some people making this may be slicing the meat "with the grain". You should slice "against" the grain. If you see long strands of meat when you slice it, flip it over! Slice it at an angle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I agree with all the 4 star ratings. I have tried to make London Broil a few times before and it always turned out like shoe leather. WOW was I wrong, this recipe made a true believer out of me. I did sprinkle some meat tenderizer on the meat(just because of the bad experience I had with this cut of beef.) I marinated for 24 hrs, Grilled for 3 to 5 each side, for med. rare and it was Wonderful. I let my husband take all the credit,(after all he was the one doing the grilling).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Favorite for london broil with added lemon juice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This was wonderful. I marinated mine for about 8 hours. It turned out very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I marinated ours for almost 3 days as someone else had suggested. The meat was very tender and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boyz5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: North Kingstown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

How to Grill Steaks

See the simple trick to grilling tender, juicy steaks every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States