Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I'm amazed by how easy it was! It was creamier than the stuff we've gotten at restaurants. At first I used a coffee filter, but that was way too slow. A sieve worked fine to strain out the rice. Thank you, Lola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Turned out pretty good! I changed the recipe by using 1/4 cup of half and half and 1/4 of skim milk. I also added only a half cup of sugar and it was still plenty sweet! My blender couldn't fit all of the rice and water so I had to do two "batches" that I later combined. I only let my rice soak for 3 hours and it still turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I made some changes... I used 6 cups of water and two cups of milk and two whole tablespoons of vanilla extract. I did not blend the rice in, only let it boil until almost a mashed consistency and then I drained the rice water from the rice. I let two cinnamon sticks sit in the mix while it was cooling down and added a little more powdered cinnamon to taste. I let it sit for a few hours and enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haleyjo Elizabeth Hompstead

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Loved it. I can add more milk to make it less sweet or drink it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I have made this recipe several times. The only alteration I make is that I put half of a cinnamon stick in with the rice and water. During the 3 hours, I will occasionally pulse the rice, water, and cinnamon. (BTW: It's great with a splash of good, dark rum!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I've never made horchata before, but this recipe was fab! A little sweet, but cutting down on the sugar solves that problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I took Serena's advice and added more rice and changed up the recipe a little. I used Jasmati rice, which gave the horchata a slightly floral hint in the undertones, plus I put in ground cinnamon instead of the cinnamon sticks. Throughout the time it sat out at room temperature, I would periodically pulse the blender and mix everything back up again. When it was done, I put it through a Greek yogurt strainer, which got out quite a bit of the excess cinnamon so it wasn't so sludgy on the bottom. I also used extra vanilla (probably 2 or 3 tablespoons) and more milk. Next time I'm going to try cardamom in the mix to see what that does. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzi m

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I made this for my family and everyone loved it! I actually ran out and covertly replaced it with some Kern's Boxed Horchata. My oldest daughter (6) tasted it (the Kern's) and said "Eww - this doesn't taste good". But my wife couldn't tell the difference. I really liked it too. Excellent rice and cinnamon flavor. The vanilla and milk set this recipe apart from other recipes. However, I modified the recipe a little: Used 1 c. of water with the 1c of rice in the blender. I added a cinnamon stick to the blender and omitted the ground cinnamon. I added 3 more cups of water (not 4) once pulverized. I stirred it up and let it soak overnight and all day in the fridge. I added 1/2 c. sugar and mixed it in. I didn't have a cheesecloth so I just used two bowls to drain off the rice water, preserving the water and throwing away the stuff left in the bottom. I repeated this step 4 times. I noticed some sugar in the crud so maybe next time I will add the sugar later. I increased the milk to 1 c. Added 1/2 t. vanilla and served over ice. I only got about 2 cups of horchata (before milk) from my 4c. of rice water, but maybe I would have had more if I had used a cheesecloth. No rice grit in the final product. Very smooth and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Really good. Add a can of evaporated milk as well and it will be as good as you can find at any Mexican home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States