Lola's Horchata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Loved it. I can add more milk to make it less sweet or drink it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I have made this recipe several times. The only alteration I make is that I put half of a cinnamon stick in with the rice and water. During the 3 hours, I will occasionally pulse the rice, water, and cinnamon. (BTW: It's great with a splash of good, dark rum!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I've never made horchata before, but this recipe was fab! A little sweet, but cutting down on the sugar solves that problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I took Serena's advice and added more rice and changed up the recipe a little. I used Jasmati rice, which gave the horchata a slightly floral hint in the undertones, plus I put in ground cinnamon instead of the cinnamon sticks. Throughout the time it sat out at room temperature, I would periodically pulse the blender and mix everything back up again. When it was done, I put it through a Greek yogurt strainer, which got out quite a bit of the excess cinnamon so it wasn't so sludgy on the bottom. I also used extra vanilla (probably 2 or 3 tablespoons) and more milk. Next time I'm going to try cardamom in the mix to see what that does. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzi m

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I made this for my family and everyone loved it! I actually ran out and covertly replaced it with some Kern's Boxed Horchata. My oldest daughter (6) tasted it (the Kern's) and said "Eww - this doesn't taste good". But my wife couldn't tell the difference. I really liked it too. Excellent rice and cinnamon flavor. The vanilla and milk set this recipe apart from other recipes. However, I modified the recipe a little: Used 1 c. of water with the 1c of rice in the blender. I added a cinnamon stick to the blender and omitted the ground cinnamon. I added 3 more cups of water (not 4) once pulverized. I stirred it up and let it soak overnight and all day in the fridge. I added 1/2 c. sugar and mixed it in. I didn't have a cheesecloth so I just used two bowls to drain off the rice water, preserving the water and throwing away the stuff left in the bottom. I repeated this step 4 times. I noticed some sugar in the crud so maybe next time I will add the sugar later. I increased the milk to 1 c. Added 1/2 t. vanilla and served over ice. I only got about 2 cups of horchata (before milk) from my 4c. of rice water, but maybe I would have had more if I had used a cheesecloth. No rice grit in the final product. Very smooth and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Really good. Add a can of evaporated milk as well and it will be as good as you can find at any Mexican home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
could be better with more milk because it was a little too watery. but i added a little bit of whip cream on top which made it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
While I've drank plenty, this was my first attempt at making horchata and I must say, I am pleased with the result. After reading too many reviews and too many other recipes, I settled on this one. As with some other reviewers, I used a long grain BROWN rice, blended the rice with 2 cups of water with 2 broken cinnamon sticks for about 30 seconds. Then added the 3 remaining cups of water. I use a Vitamix so I used care not to pulverize it too much. My rice, water, cinnamon blend actually sat overnight and a workday in the refrigerator. I used evaporated milk and reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup using turbinado sugar. I love cinnamon and vanilla (Mexican blend) so I added double the suggested amount. Because my mixture was cold, I put it all back in the blender for a few seconds to help the sugar dissolve. It went back in the fridge for another overnight. Seems like too long to wait, I know. But it was well worth it. For health reasons, I will stop consuming dairy products so the next time I make it I will use Almond milk. This way, I won't feel deprived of the a sweet "dairy" treat! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This recipe is good but if you add 8 ounces of evaporated milk it makes it richer and creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lola’s Horchata

The refreshing Mexican drink flavored with cinnamon and vanilla.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Shrimp Burritos

Baja-style shrimp burritos with an amazing chipotle sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States