Lolah's Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Substitute 1/2 cup of salt free chicken broth instead of water. I also only use 1/4 cup of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Pretty true to the original recipe as my family knows it. 1:1:1 water:vinegar:soy sauce ratio. Instead of pickling spice, we just toss in a few whole peppercorns and bay leaves and call it good. We also brown the chicken after simmering in the soy/vinegar/water mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asonetuh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was a great, easy recipe...wonderful flavor and the tenderest chicken. I also did not have the pickling spice so I just used fresh cracked pepper, a bay leaf and a dash of ground clove and my family raved about it. Definitely a recipe that you can tweak here and there. Soy sauce, vinegar and water are key though, also lots of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Morency Giuffre

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seabrook, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This was wonderful, just like what I grew up eating. I could not find pickling spice so I used 2 Tbsp. Zatarans crab boil in the bag, I just cut the bag open any put 2 Tbsp. Into a tea ball (cheap easy and reusable) and it came out great. The crab boil is available in the spice isle and has about 1 cup of mixed spices in it, so there is plenty left for the next time I make this, which will be soon!!! The next time I will probably use a whole cut up chicken with bones and skin as I found that the chicken was slightly dry after 1 hour of cooking. Thank you or this recipe, I love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
So yummy and easy! My five year old loves it too! The only thing I did different was instead of pickling spice (did not have any) I used bay leaf, a dash of cinnamon, ginger, and black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This was good. He liked it even though it doesn't taste like his mother's (or at least that's what he said).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklinville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Millersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
My husband is Filipino and I have grown to love Filipino food over the years. I was looking for a good recipe that I could use that was similar to the way his Mom makes it. This is it! The only thing I did different was not add the pickling spice (I did not have any), instead added a few bay leaves. Served over Jasmine rice - Delish! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4five

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
My family loved this.. :) I did not change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Really good. It's the right measurements. I've made this recipe several times and there's never any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Great adobo recipe, For those who find ita bit or too salty, that's what the rice is for..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States