Lolah's Chicken Adobo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This was wonderful, just like what I grew up eating. I could not find pickling spice so I used 2 Tbsp. Zatarans crab boil in the bag, I just cut the bag open any put 2 Tbsp. Into a tea ball (cheap easy and reusable) and it came out great. The crab boil is available in the spice isle and has about 1 cup of mixed spices in it, so there is plenty left for the next time I make this, which will be soon!!! The next time I will probably use a whole cut up chicken with bones and skin as I found that the chicken was slightly dry after 1 hour of cooking. Thank you or this recipe, I love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
So yummy and easy! My five year old loves it too! The only thing I did different was instead of pickling spice (did not have any) I used bay leaf, a dash of cinnamon, ginger, and black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This was good. He liked it even though it doesn't taste like his mother's (or at least that's what he said).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklinville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Millersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
My husband is Filipino and I have grown to love Filipino food over the years. I was looking for a good recipe that I could use that was similar to the way his Mom makes it. This is it! The only thing I did different was not add the pickling spice (I did not have any), instead added a few bay leaves. Served over Jasmine rice - Delish! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4five

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
My family loved this.. :) I did not change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Really good. It's the right measurements. I've made this recipe several times and there's never any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Great adobo recipe, For those who find ita bit or too salty, that's what the rice is for..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Great dish. Everyone in the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Delicious recipe! Just right for my adobo craving tonight. I added a little more water at the end to keep the sauce from completely evaporating, and added a little Splenda for sweetness. We had no leftovers at our house -- the three-year--old grandson ate three helpings with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was perfection!!! I will be making this again and again.I even got my picky 12 year old to eat it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer
Home Town: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States