Loco Moco Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This is much better with hamburger patties instead of spam. More traditional as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
I also make it with ground beef patties, or with cubed steak, and I always make my own brown gravy... Just use lean ground beef, do not drain, stir in enough beef stock to cover, add a few tablespoons of flour mixed with 1/4 cup of beef stock, (And sweet rice flour for extra thickening, if you have it!) and reduce to make a wonderful homemade gravy! Also, I make it with eggs over easy. Runny Yolky Goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sy Chandell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bandon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This is tasty, but not the way I have always had it. This is the Spam loco, but if you just order loco moco, it's usually hamburger. Originally, you cook the short grained sticky/sweet/sushi type (Calrose) rice by rinsing and then soaking it in water, then cook cook it according to package directions. Top that fresh, hot, rice with a salisbury steak or grilled hamburger patty. Then top the patty with rich brown gravy. Then top everything with an over easy fried egg. MMMMMmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I'll give this four stars because it has pieces of some of my favorite comfort food. Spam, eggs and rice - I never have gravy with it. You don't need it... just use the yolk from the egg. Also, if you fry the SPAM in some canola oil, it gets crispy on the outside like bacon. YUM! (SPAM light is just as yummy as regular SPAM in my opinion... with less fat, calories and sodium) My loco moco is always with hamburger too. I was curious to see if there was an 'official' recipe posted and was really surprised to see it used with SPAM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I made this to mimic the more traditional recipe that we had on our trip to Hawaii by using a hamburger patty (seasoned with worchestire and pepper) instead of spam. I also made my own brown gravy by using the hamburger drippings, vegetable broth and corn starch. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This is really good with sausage as well, not link sausage but the kind you make in to patties and fry. Use whatever kind you like, but just regular sausage is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I agree with other reviewers, this should be made with hamburger patties. This makes a great, easy, quick dinner too.....!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebugs_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prineville, Oregon, USA
Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I saw this recipe mentioned on the Recipe Buzz yesterday and just HAD to try it. It's so good!! I don't care for scrambled eggs, so I cooked mine over medium instead. Also, I used the brown gravy in a packet instead of the canned gravy, because it's basically the same thing, but less expensive. This won't be a regular breakfast item because of the high level of fat, cholesterol, and sodium, but it's definitely going to be a once-in-a-while treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This recipe is easy to make and simple. Not the greatest. If you're looking for an easy spam locomoco dish and don't know where to start, this recipe will suffice. However, if you are looking for a more traditional local Hawaiian style hamburger locomoco, you picked the wrong recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apple.juice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I agree that traditional loco moco is made with hamburger and you can make the egg anyway you want, I like mine over easy. Also very good with fried rice instead of white rice if you want something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States