Lobster Thermidor Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I made as written except I used a medium cooked lobster tail which I chunked into two individual casserole dishes. It had a wonderful flavor but I agree with other reviewers that it could be thicker. Next time I will reduce the fish stock to 1 cup and increase the cream to 1/2. I may also put the shell into the sauce as I reduce it and put the lobster in raw just before the mustard, etc. Then I can broil it until the cheese is brown and bubbly without the lobster being too done. I served it as an appetizer with toast rounds. It was a huge hit. I'd like to try the sauce over pasta too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Made this as a birthday dinner for my girlfriend who loves lobster. She was skeptical at first, but as soon as she took the first bite she made a face like she'd just tasted the best thing ever. She said it was great, rich and creamy with lots of lobster flavor. I'm not the biggest lobster fan in the world, but I thought it was okay too, definitely one of the better seafood dishes I've made. Adjustments I made: instead of fish stock, I added some white wine and mirepoix to the lobster cooking water and simmered it to create a makeshift lobster stock. I also added maybe 2 tbs more cream after reading some comments that the sauce was too thin. Since she liked it so much, I'll probably make this again the next time my girlfriend has something to celebrate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This is a sinfully rich and delicious meal. A wonderful treat to serve your family and guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I was short on time and just added the Parmesan cheese to the sauce, then it poured over BBQ'd lobster tails. Even without broiling it tasted excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
first time I cook lobster and it was so delicious.And my three guest was awed. thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Great Recipe, Definitely a keeper. Next time I will put it over a bed of linguini without the shells. complete it in the oven with the parmesan, Au Gratin style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Extremely easy to make! Followed this recipe exactly. Came out wonderful. I used a Pinot Grigo for the white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
YUMMY! This sauce is spectacular and would be great even over chicken or fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was a good base recipe. Used the boiling water from cooking tail (with some old bay). Started with butter/onions, added flour to make a roux, also added some roasted garlic, didnt really measure anything cause I made a smaller batch. Wish I made more, going to use the leftovers on some imitation crab, and add to pasta. This would make a great sauce for a lobster pasta too, I almost made it that way, wish I did. Would have stretched the meat and filled me up, just wanted more after I ate it. *Also, served with lemon on the side to taste instead of mixing it in, might save some headaches that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: North Webster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This recipe was really good. My boyfriend loved it. I don't like lobster claw meat, so I added some crab meat to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States