Lobster Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Made this last night for quests, everyone loved it. This was our first time visiting this site for recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mik
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Wonderfull!! I made this with a couple of changes, I used lite margerine and I used 1% milk only, didn't add creme at end, also could not find celery flakes so I used 1 tea of finely chopped celery, I also used red onion as that was what I had, and simmered soup for about 1/2 hr, then cooled and reheated it later for dinner. This was yummy and I think fairly light, I had a couple friends for dinner and they loved it. I will make this again, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mik

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Lobster is a little more plentiful since we have moved back east so I was looking for a lobster soup recipe like "momma" used to make. This is nothing like momma's, it's terrific. I made it exactly as directed and wouldn't change a thing. Thanks Dorothy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tignish, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Five stars with the following changes. Add a good sprinkle of Old Bay seasoning. When you add in the milk and chicken broth, use a soup hand blender to blend. Don't just cook 10 min. The onions will not be soft. I used two 8-oz packages Trans Ocean Lobster Classic Chunk Style Lobster. This is a fantastic imitation lobster (do NOT use Louis Kemp brand...ick). Let simmer on low one hour stirring occasionally. Cool then run through a blender. Reheat and add the cream. WONDERBAR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Great recipe. Super easy and fantastic flavor. I followed the recipe and the only thing i will do differently next time will be to add more lobster. I felt like there was too much broth for the amount of lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
EXCELLENT! I did, however make some changes. I used can lobster as I could not bear to use fresh lobster in a soup unless it was left over, which never happens at our house. I added worcestershire sauce, sherry, Old Bay, white pepper and paprika. I substituted heavy cream for the light cream. My only wish is that I had written down the amounts. I just did it to taste, and it was "knock your socks off" good! Thank you Dorothy for such an EXCELLENT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I have made this several times for guests, it is an incredible recipe and well worth the price of lobster. I finely diced red and yellow peppers, not alot, to give it a little added flavor and used FF half and half instead of heavy cream and milk to cut down on fat and everyone I served it to absolutely loved it, making it again today for yet another guest who hasn't tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Excellent...so yummy!!made this for dinner tonight.I did have a few changes..didn't have celery flakes.so I used diced up celery..sauted the onions and celery first..then added them in..I also used imitation crab 2 packs.I put it in the food chopper and also added the old bay and worcestershire sauce..let it cook on low for about 30min..super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paula

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
We thought this was fantastic. Although if you don't want crunchy onions in your soup, you may want to consider cooking them in a little pan in some butter until they're somewhat transparent and then add them in. Also, I let this simmer for about 1/2 an hour, a little longer would be great too. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Great Soup!!!Easy to make I put everything to in a slower so no worry about burning the soup that way.I also added Haddock. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States