Lobster Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This is a classic New England sandwich best served on a regular ol' hot dog bun which I prefer grilled. (Pepperidge Farm is my favorite) I use big, meaty chunks of fresh lobster, no onion or herbs, and just a bit of lemon juice. I could eat this every day--if lobster wasn't so pricey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
We had a good portion of leftover lobster and I heard that lobster doesn't reheat well so I thought of a lobster sandwich that I had at Neiman Marcus for lunch one day. This recipe is FAR better then what Neiman Marcus offers. SO simple but yet, so delicious. I brought fresh French bread from the bakery and toasted it prior to dressing the sandwich. The next time we have lobster I plan on buying too much again, just so that I can have this sandwich the next day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISHME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Although I haven't made this exact recipe, I grew up in New Brunswick,Canada and have had lobster rolls all my life...If anyone has not tried this recipe I would recommend it..It's a decadent treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zap

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manchester, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
i used imitation lobster. a nice and simple recipe; i'd not leave out the tabisco, since it gives it the kick it needs. i'll do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
This was amazing! We bought lobster tails for V-Day that were just too big to eat, and I had no idea what to do with the leftovers, since I have bad luck reheating lobster. So I tried this recipe since it stays cold. I'm so glad I did! I did make a few changes: I had about a 1/2 Lb. of lobster, I used all the mayo (light), I used 1 Tab lemmon, not lime, I substituted a dash of celery salt becuase I don't like celery, I added about 4 dashes more hot pepper sause, and I put it in a tortilla with lettuce (and no butter)as a wrap. I can't see myself spending $20 a pound just for this, but if I ever have leftover lobster again, this is the perfect way to eat it! And if you have a fancy party, this would make an unbelievable appitizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
One of the few things I miss about Long Island is going out to Montauk and having Lobster Rolls. When I found this recipe I had to try it! Instead of using lobster meat I also used immitation crab meat like a previous reviewer posted and also mild green tabasco sauce and it was Outrageous!! The lime gives it a nice flavor. Would also be nice to serve with crackers for get togethers. These will be the only Lobster Rolls I will ever make! Thank You for sharing this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Delicious! I marinated the lobster meat(after cooking) in butter with a little lemon juice and garlic powder for a few minutes, then drained off the mixture before adding it to the mayo/onion/celery dressing. I served it open-faced on toasted slices of French baguette bread with lettuce. Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
We were at an Asian Mkt in So Cal and they had a special for the nite...kingsize,5 LB. LIVE, lobsters $5.99 a pound... They would steam it for us. It was a done deal! We already had dinner, so I decided to look on this site for something for tomorrow and low and behold, I found this recipe! IT WAS FABULOUS! I was thrilled we even had a little leftover for the next day. I didn't alter a thing. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Last summer, we spent time on the Massachusetts shore. I absolutely fell in the love with the lobster rolls that we got from the small, "mom and pop" type of places, particularly in Salem and Plymouth. These were very much as good as those that we enjoyed. I added a bit more basil, and used sweet basil simply because it was all I had in the house at the time. I added a bit less onion than called for as well. The recipe is wonderful, but I think a bit of experimentation is always even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAParker333

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I guess I'm just giving this 4 stars because I don't like the taste of lime paired with lobster, I prefer lemon. And I think the mayo mixture should be in the fridge for a couple of hours (or, even better, overnight!). Otherwise...love lobster rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States