Lobster Ravioli in Tomato Cream Sauce with Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I followed every single solitary detail of this recipe. What ruined this recipe? The insane amount of lemon. One whole lemon cut in half, and squeezing it's juice into the stock, was a HUGE mistake. Compound this by later adding in 2 tspn of lemon zest. Ugh! Horrible!! This was BITTER. Not to mention 1 tspn of Kosher salt was way too much salt as well. And yes, I do like lemon, but in this dish it was overkill. If you want this recipe to go well, here is what I recommend….Use half a lemon in the stock, and don't squeeze the juice out at all, just let the stock absorb it. And because you already have the lemon, completely skip using the lemon zest, period. Zest is bitter! Use 1/4 tspn of salt. If that's not enough, add it to your OWN plate later! Also, too much parsley - 1/4 cup would have been enough. Don't use Diced Petite Tomatoes. Go with Italian plum, and shred them up. This sauce needs a little bit of sweetness to kill the bitterness of the lemon. I ended up having to add some sugar to kill the bitter flavor of this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I used the sauce recipe for another homemade ravioli and it was a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Vidrio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calistoga, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
awesome! i made this for my wife for valentines day and she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is a SAUCE recipe not a Lobster Ravioli recipe. However, the sauce was delicious and is rated based upon this recipe with changes. Still looking for a Lobster Rav recipe though. Will keep making this sauce in hopes I can pair them. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Teague

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I did not do the shrimp stock. The sauce itself is incredible and does not need it. For the sauce I used nonfat milk and some cornstarch instead of heavy cream. I used a cheese ravioli instead of lobster ravioli. Then added some mushrooms. So very good and will definitely make again. Restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Very ,very good ! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caspian, Michigan, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I gave this 4 stars because the sauce as is needed some changes. I added more heavy cream and some parmesan cheese to thicken it up. With those additions, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
this is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Amazing! This is one of the best recipes I have yet to come across. No alterations needed. Great as is! Thank you for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George West, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I USED THIS RECIPE AS A BASE, I USED CHICKEN STOCK INSTEAD OF MAKING THE SHRIMP SAUCE, OMITTED THE SHRIMP, USED 1 CUP OF CREAM AND ADDED THYME AND GARLIC POWDER, THEN I THICKENED IT WITH A BIT OF CORN STARCH, IT WAS WONDERFUL, JUST LIKE YOU WOULD GET AT A RESTAURANT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States