Lobster Newburg Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
As a professional chef I found this recipe very lacking a built up flavor profile, it didn't have the depth I would have imagined it should have but the ingredients were almost all there. I changed a few thins and it was great. First I sautéed an onion that was diced fine, next I deglazed the pan with the sherry and reduced until the pan was almost dry. Adding the butter that I let soften in next. I added the cream and egg yolk mixture and let thicken and finally the shrimp. This was a totally different flavor from that of the original recipe. It had more depth and flavor. Just my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
i have been making this for years. i also change it up a bit, i take a tube of ritz crackers smash them 1 stick of butter and acouple dashed of Worcestershire sauce mix it together and put it on top of the lobster mixture and call it lobster pie. so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
A BIT RICH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
The recipe does not say when to add the cream. I just did it at the end while warming up the lobster, but I do no know if that is the best way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I added a chopped shallot to the butter and it was just as I remembered my mother making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
As others have stated, this is a restaurant-quality dish that is incredibly easy to make. I made it exactly as written, and it was perfect. I used two whole lobsters, but next time I will use either lobster tails or perhaps try making Crab Newburg, using Alaskan king crab. Most of my time was spent extracting the meat from the whole lobsters, so avoiding the whole lobsters would speed up the process. I will also try using canned milk instead of the heavy cream, as an experiment. If I don't give up too much in flavor, the canned milk would make it more healthful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This is totally awesome! Easy to do and the taste is fantastic! I can't wait to try it on shrimp, halibut and cod or maybe try serving it with rice or quinoa, instead of the toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I was in the mood for seafood the other night and found your recipe. I used Madeira this time only because when I went to my bar it was what I saw first. And I used puff pastry shells instead of toast because I had them already in the freezer. Wonderful, quick and easy yet very elegant! I think a lot of people might be a bit scared because to the butter and the constant stirring. But there really is nothing to be worried about. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OStreetGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This is the recipe I've been looking for! You can add shrimp, scallop, any kind of fish to this recipe. Adjust all the spices to your own taste. I crumbled up some buttery crackers and spread on top and broiled. Served with rice. This was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn McDonald Castka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albrightsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Decadent! Restaurant quality and super simple. This is a low carb dream meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Lobster Tails Steamed in Beer

These tasty lobster tails are so easy to make.

Broiled Lobster Tails

This elegant dish is perfect for any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States