Lobster Mornay Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I have made the recipe two times. One time was just for my husband and kids, the second was for my in-laws, husband, kids, nieces, nephew, and their parents. They all absolutely loved it! I plan on fixing it tonight for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I have to be honest, but I followed this recipe exactly, just added a little shrimp along w/ the lobster, and we had to throw it out and order the diner. Just the creamy sauce didn't agree w/ the lobster and the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
We really enjoyed this! I usually prepare pasta with tomatoe base or blush sauces, but was in the mood for something different tonight. This was wonderful! I prepared with shrimp and bay scallops, and added a splash of sherry to the seafood/mushroom mix. Add LOTS of pepper and a dash of salt to the white sauce. I also added blanched asparagus pieces to the mix. Thanks, Wendy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
OMG - this was amazing! I used shrimp, scallops and imitation crab. I also added minced garlic and a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Oh my goodness! How can you be so delicious, lobster mornay? This recipe definitely deserves more praise... of course it is in need of some minor adjustment. Adding salt to taste was a wonderful suggestion. Minced garlic to your liking. And for preserving the whiteness of the end result, you'll want to use good quality butter for the beurre manie. Because the flavor of the lobster is in the butter to which you are adding the broth, cream, and pepper, you don't want to pour that out! You'll want to keep the butter... just make sure to clean your mushrooms and to not overcook them, which causes the butter to become discolored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
After a wonderful weekend in Maine, I came home with two pounds of fresh cooked lobster. This was a fabulous way to use it. I added minced garlic, as others suggested and added a hearty splash of wine to the roux. Because my lobster was already cooked I added it at the end. I fed 3 hungry friends and they all raved. This is elegant, easy and sumptuous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
I also added fresh garlic, salt, asparagus, and regular portabello mushrooms to this recipe. My husband loved it so much, he didn't utter a word during dinner! The sauce still needed a kick, so I added tabasco sauce to every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NYPD K9 COP
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
delish!! velvety taste, restaurant quality.. I did add minced garlic and a little more heavy cream to make more sauce. soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
As suggested by a reviewer, I added minced garlic to the sauce. I served it over linguini pasta with steamed vegetables on the side for an easy meal. Next time I will try it with shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
This recipe was divine! I took others' suggestions by adding salt and garlic. The color turned out just fine. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States