Lobster Mornay Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
I thought this was very good. I did add a little garlic and I used shrimp, scallops, and lobster. For some reason I had to cook it much longer and the sauce never did really get thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msawyer3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I was so disappointed in this recipe after reading all the great reviews. I followed the recipe exactly with exception to adding a bit of onion and garlic (sauteed with the mushrooms) and in the end, we all thought this dish was very bland. I used Parmagiana Reggiana straight from Italy and all the best ingredients I could find - yet the flavour was really lacking. We won't be making this dish again I'm afraid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
What a wonderful recipe. I used milk and the juice from my frozen canned lobster.Served it on puff pastry shell. So good and so easy to prepare Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RITACA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Lobster Mornay...how do I love thee...I can't even begin to count the ways. Made this with leftover lobster tails that I minced. The flavor was out of this world. Wasn't too salty for me and my wife. It actually tasted like it was from a restaurant. Used freshly grated parmesan and I think that made a big difference. Only complaint was that the lobster and mushrooms didn't cling to the pasta that well. Minced lobster & diced mushrooms next time. And I'll save some of the parmesan to add after the sauce is added to the pasta. A definite keeper to be added to my seafood recipes. Will try adding shrimp, scallops, and other seafood to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I have made the recipe two times. One time was just for my husband and kids, the second was for my in-laws, husband, kids, nieces, nephew, and their parents. They all absolutely loved it! I plan on fixing it tonight for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I have to be honest, but I followed this recipe exactly, just added a little shrimp along w/ the lobster, and we had to throw it out and order the diner. Just the creamy sauce didn't agree w/ the lobster and the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Carter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
We really enjoyed this! I usually prepare pasta with tomatoe base or blush sauces, but was in the mood for something different tonight. This was wonderful! I prepared with shrimp and bay scallops, and added a splash of sherry to the seafood/mushroom mix. Add LOTS of pepper and a dash of salt to the white sauce. I also added blanched asparagus pieces to the mix. Thanks, Wendy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
OMG - this was amazing! I used shrimp, scallops and imitation crab. I also added minced garlic and a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Oh my goodness! How can you be so delicious, lobster mornay? This recipe definitely deserves more praise... of course it is in need of some minor adjustment. Adding salt to taste was a wonderful suggestion. Minced garlic to your liking. And for preserving the whiteness of the end result, you'll want to use good quality butter for the beurre manie. Because the flavor of the lobster is in the butter to which you are adding the broth, cream, and pepper, you don't want to pour that out! You'll want to keep the butter... just make sure to clean your mushrooms and to not overcook them, which causes the butter to become discolored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
After a wonderful weekend in Maine, I came home with two pounds of fresh cooked lobster. This was a fabulous way to use it. I added minced garlic, as others suggested and added a hearty splash of wine to the roux. Because my lobster was already cooked I added it at the end. I fed 3 hungry friends and they all raved. This is elegant, easy and sumptuous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States