Lobster Mornay Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Moppel
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Amazing! I followed the recipe exactly, with the only addition being a pinch of salt in the end. I used fresh lobster meat, and it came out delicious. My extremely picky five year old cleaned his plate in record time. He never even finishes pizza! I will definitely make this again, but I think next time I will try shrimp, to see how that comes out (and I love shrimp). I highly recommend this recipe, as it is very quick and easy to make (the longest part was taking the lobsters apart), but the end result is very "gourmet", perfect for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
What a treat! Added a small clove of garlic finely chopped and a few red pepper flakes. It was devine!! So easy with a high WOW factor for flavour and presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Delish....this was a wonderful recipe. I did add one clove of garlic in the 1st step and 2 tbsp of dry sherry in the last step. I also added scallops. Everyone raved over this dish served over linguine with aspargus on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
My hubby is a person who never cooks .but tried this recipe .instead of lobster he used prawn meat. He also used olives n pepperdews just the way i like it .Wow absolutely DIVINE . Also a bit of garlic in the sauce gives the sauce a good taste .just loved it .satisfied all my cravings . Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Outstanding.....I don't know how you could call this bland, if prepared properly? Maybe try again if unsuccessful.. My wife's favorite pasta recipe. I add a little garlic and use Shrimp w/ Scallops. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
used evap milk instead of cream, was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Delicious as written! This is so quick, easy and great tasting! The only changes, I use cayenne pepper to taste and sometimes add a tablespoon or so of chopped chives. If you want a little color, add 1/2 red bell pepper, finely diced and sautéed a couple of minutes in a little butter. I love making it with bow tie pasta. thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Substituted the heavy cream for Coffee Mate, which I do all the time and love the results. I also added chardonnay, but any white wine to taste, and some freshly grated nutmeg, also to taste. You could rub it in your hair it's so good! ;).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This is a good Mornay Sauce recipe, but for me, though, it overwhelms the wonderful, distinct flavor of the lobster. Perhaps if I lived in Maine and ate fresh lobster weekly I might not feel this way, but as it is, the four or five times a year when I do buy lobster I think that I prefer it with just the butter, and lemon. I will definitely make this again, but using shrimp instead. It will make an awesome Shrimp Mornay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnNM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This is very good but definitely needs some spices, nutmeg and garlic adds a lot more flavour, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States