Lobster Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I had a one pint container of leftover lobster (that I picked out of the shell) from a special occasion a couple of days ago. I wanted to use it up with a recipe that was more 'dinner' like instead of cold lobster salad, so I came to (of course!) allrecipes.com and plugged in my special ingredient. There weren't many 'hot' lobster recipes, but this one stood out. I didn't have cream or regular bread so I used whole milk and rye bread. I also added a little sharp cheddar and parmesan (less than a cup total of both) to the sauce, along with just a sprinkle of Old Bay seasoning (just because I like things kicked up a tad). I husband raved the rest of the night about this AND I think it took me LESS time to make than the recipe actually called for! LOVE that on a weeknight! I know I changed a few things on this recipe and gave it 5 stars, but I really think it's the kind of recipe that you can tweak to make it your own with just a 'little here and a little there'. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I scaled this down for one and used some leftover lobster I had in the freezer. I didn't have heavy cream so I used milk. My last tweak was using bread crumbs. Would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
We just loved this casserole. I used Panera Bread, which is a substantial white bread, and was a couple of days old.... perfect! I also added 1/2 cup shredded white cheddar, so I increased the milk just a little to keep consistency the same. That added just a hint of cheese flavor, which we like. I'm sure it would be great without the cheese too. I will keep this as one of my alltime favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I tried this recipe substituting half & half for the milk and heavy cream and crushed Ritz crackers for the sliced bread. It was extremely delicious!! I've made it three times so far. I generally double the ingredients, and my wife and I get three meals from the recipe. It tastes just as good warmed over in the microwave as it does right out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Delicious! Being in the midwest, where lobster is expensive, I used imitation crab meat. I also used milk instead of the heavy cream to make it a little healthier. I followed the advice of another reviewer and added some Old Bay. Very good, perfect comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I agree with at least one other reviewer. Used 1 pound real crab meat to substitute for the lobster since lobster not available at store this eve. All other ingredients were as suggested by the recipe. The outcome was not good. I am not confident that lobster would help. Glad other people had some better results. It wouldn't sting so much if it weren't such a pricey loss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I added garlic, and also mushrooms. Everybody gave it a thumbs up. Will definitely make it again, perhaps add shallots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Yummy!!!! I have made this once and will be making it very often! Since we are inland I used imitation lobster meat and it still was great. I can't wait to try it with real lobster. The only suggestion I have is to add some garlic. I also put fresh Parmesan cheese on my portion since bf doesn't eat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannamarie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Loved it!! Ive had this similar dish in Boston, but instead of the bread they used Ritz crackers - my only concern with your ingredients with crackers instead of bread would be the salt. Maybe Ill try low sodium Ritz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I'm sorry, this recipe was awful. My family and I love lobster and I had high hopes for this one, but the taste was just not at all appetizing. My brother spit out the bite he took, and the rest I had to throw away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maribel, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denmark, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States