Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This is a good recipe, just not amazing. I will make it again, although not for my husband as I found out he doesn't like seafood bisques. As other reviewers suggested I used 4 T butter and 4 T flour to and added garlic (1-2 cloves), old bay seasoning (just a bit), and some parsley (maybe a tsp). Instead of the cayenne (didn't have any) I added a few shakes of hot sauce. Unlike many other reviewers I used milk (skim) and the consistency was fine. Many of the reviews also called for tomato paste, but didn't have any so put a few squirts of ketchup (after tasting and realizing it was missing something) in there and it added a lot to the dish. To keep a little more budget friendly used shrimp/crab instead of lobster and it was just fine. It would have been bland without the additional seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I followed the recipe without taking the suggestion to modify to see how it came out...it didn't knock our socks off...will keep looking. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Super bomb! I made this for valentines day, used six lobster tails, made the stock from the tails, didn't have paste so used two tsp catsup, added dried pepper flakes instead of cayenne, and more seasonings and worst. like the other reviewers. The next day I made crab bisque with left over king crab meat (we ate too much bisque to finish the crab) this time i used tom. paste and white wine, it wasn't near as good with the paste/wine, but still good had we had not just had the OUTSTANDING lobster version we'd probably have liked it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daizy7155

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Honestly, Nothing beats this recipe.. I cook like a 5 star hotel chef! But yes, must sub the milk with whip cream or heavy cream. and more pepper, simmer is the key 1hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sappy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This recipe is outstanding! After the first bite we started giggling because it was *so good* that we couldn't believe that it came out of our kitchen! I served it with fresh bread and a salad, and it was absolutely perfect. Like others, I doctored the recipe a little. I used more butter & flour (4 Tb of each), and I added two healthy sprinkles of cayenne pepper, and two shakes of Northwoods seasoning (similar to Old Bay). We both thought that the cayenne was integral to the recipe... but couldn't have identified it if we hadn't known what was in there. It just gave the soup a depth that would have been missing otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I followed the directions, and switched out the milk for half-and-half, and it had a decent consistency. Unfortunately, it seems that 1 lb of crab meat was way too much. I'd do like half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
see other reviews first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren D
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
For a simple soup this is definatly a 5 star recipe. After reading the reviews I decided to add 1 teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce, 4 tablespoons of butter and 4 tablespoons of flour. I also chopped the onions, but my husband and I agree not to chop them again. With the lobster we shredded it, and it kept the soup hearty. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This was easier to make that I thought it would be. I couldn't get lobster because the commissary didn't have any, so I used crab meat instead. I only gave it 4 stars in part because we didn't care for it that much. I will try it again with lobster though, but if I can't find lobster I might try it with scallops. I think that crab meat was a poor substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by algwinnup

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Island, Florida, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States