Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
AMAZING with the following suggestions taken from here: saute chopped onion and 2 minced cloves of garlic in olive oil before adding chicken broth, whisk 3 tbs butter with 3 tbs flour, use 1 cup half & half, 1 cup skim milk, 1/2 cup white wine, 1 tsp Worcestershire, 1/4 tsp cayenne, 1/4 tsp paprika, 1/4 teaspoon thyme, 2 cups lobster, simmer on low for an hour. Found this to be the perfect consistency, spice, and amount for 2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This recipe was very easy and extremely good. I used crab and heavy whipping cream. I also added a bit of black pepper and took an extra cup of the whipping cream and beat it til it was light and fluffy and slowly folded it in to make it a bit thicker. I floated a few pieces of crab on top of each individual bowl and sprinkled a little parsley over the floating crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Super easy. We substituted crawfish meat for lobster and it was great. I bet its even better with lobster. My husband thought it would be really good as a sauce over pasta if it were a bit thicker, I'll give that a go next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seana Hon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
We enjoyed it and I liked that it was made with milk instead of cream. Next time I would use less lobster and cut it smaller. I would put a little more onion, worcestershire and cayenne. I have already started thinking about other ways to use the base of the soup like adding chicken and corn instead of lobster. Lots of options!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This recipe is so good! I used heavy cream instead of milk cuz I had some left to get rid of and added a pinch more of the cayenne pepper. Thank you for sharing it. I will be making this a regular part of our menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwaj1988

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I made the recipe "as is" and neither my husband nor I were impressed. It did not have much flavor. If you are going to make this, you're going to have to invest time in reading others' reviews and adding multiple ingredients to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I didn't have any regular milk, so I substituted half milk and half heavy cream. I used sea salt instead of regular salt. This recipe is so easy to fix and it is worthy of being served at a dinner party. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I took a few modifications to this recipe and we all loved it! We had langostino lobster from Costco, and when shopping for ingredients I found Lobster base bouillon which had a similar recipe on the label so I combined the two and it was easy and fabulous. Modifications: 2 tbsp tomato paste, a bit extra Worcestershire sauce, replaced chicken broth with Lobster bouillon, 3/4 cup of chardonnay, half half rather than milk, and 25% more meat, and an extra tbsp. of flour. I pureed the onion and some of the meat. I actually tripled this recipe and it was fantastic the next day also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
very good. I doubled the recipe and added white pepper, white wine, 1/2 heavy cream and half milk. It was very good and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I pretty much stuck to the recipe, except I used a little bit of crab with the lobster. Also added some tomato paste and paprika for color. This is a wonderful recipe that I loved, as did my children. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Sparrow Bush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States