Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
LACTOSE-FREE VERSION! I made the following changes: Instead of milk, I used 2 cups almond of milk. Since almond milk won't thicken quite like regular milk, I used 3 tablespoons of flour + 4 tablespoons margarine to make the roux. Additionally, I added 1/2 cup non-dairy sour cream to help a little with the creaminess. I also did what the others did, by adding 1/4 tsp pepper, 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp parsley and garlic powder, 1 tbls worcestershire sauce, and 3 tbls tomato sauce. Don't forget to let the soup simmer for at elast 30 mins, stirring occasionally. This soup did not taste like flour or almonds, but had a great light taste that complimented the lobster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
We make this for Christmas dinner as and alternative to turkey ( we eat that on boxing day). I use paprika instead of cayenne and one cup of half/half and one cup milk for a creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I really enjoyed this! I also followed the advice of another poster and added more spice to give it some kick as well as 2-3 TBL of tomato paste for some color. In addition, I used 1C half & half as well as fat free half & half instead of milk. It was nice and creamy. Then I kinda "cheated" an added a couple cubed new potatoes (I know, it makes it more a chowder than a bisque but I really wanted it to have more texture). But I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gehbienes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I really liked it. I had to make a few adjustments. I didn't put as many onions in it and I added a little more flour. We loved it and I will be using this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This was an excellent base recipe!!! I doubled the recipe and ended up using 3 cups of chicken stock and 1 can of evaporated milk. It came out perfectly creamy! I blended up half the contents to make it a half bisque/half lobster stew and this added to the creamyness of it. I also added more worcestershire sauce and onions that the recipe called for. It is spectacular!!! I think that you can't go wrong with this recipe or adjusting it to your particular tastes. I definitely recommend blending half the contents as this makes it a really nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I made it as stated in the recipe, but doubled it. It needed some flavor enhancers. So I added some garlic salt, a splash more worcestershire sauce, two skinned and pureed Roma tomatoes, and a little Zatarans Creole seasoning. It was on the thin side, but the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I am severely dissapointed with this recipe. Athough I have never had Lobster Bisque before, I am certain that is not what it's supposed to taste like. Mind you, I followed this recipe TO THE "T"! It was bland and I am sorely sorry that I wasted a perfectly good lobster tail on this. I even took the suggestion of another reviewer and grilled the tail first and basted it in garlic lemon butter. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This is an awesome bisque! Our family (and friends who have tasted it) love it. We add lots of fresh garlic to it and use fat-free half & half instead of milk and we double the recipe because it's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Latham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Tasty! Altered a little though. Did not have Worcestershire sauce, so I added a packet of soy sauce. Also did the medium slices of onion. However, these were large when eating the soup, so next time I will dice before putting in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
NatalieMac - If you're going to use the broth created by cooking the lobster make sure you don't add salt. I cooked a whole lobster using the recipe from this site which calls for adding 1 TBSP of salt per quart of water. Adding that broth to this soup nearly got me sick it was soooooo salty. I also have a larger family so if I were to do this again I would look at doing double the recipe without doubling the lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by one man

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States