Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
add 1tsp garlic powder,1/2 tsp parsley,1 tsp cayenne pepper, used whipping ream & light cream instead of milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This was delicious, and fast. I even used skim milk and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This was my first ever attempt at making lobster bisque and am I glad I gave it a try. I only wish I hadn't waited so long. This quick and easy bisque has wonderful flavor and the cayenne pepper was just enough to make it really warm you up inside. I had only a small amount of lobster (about 8 ounces), but followed the recipe proportions, with the exception of the lobster meat. I did substitute lobster base for the chicken broth. I cooked my lobster tail in lightly salted water then added a little "Better Than Broth Lobster base" to taste. I used skim milk which tasted great, those wanting a richer soup could certainly use a higher fat content milk. My husband and son were both looking for seconds which I unfortunately did not have. Will plan on making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was a great beginning. I loved it. I made it 4 or 5 times at this time, and made different versions. All delicious. Thanks Wilma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Delicious and easy way to use up leftover lobster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
LACTOSE-FREE VERSION! I made the following changes: Instead of milk, I used 2 cups almond of milk. Since almond milk won't thicken quite like regular milk, I used 3 tablespoons of flour + 4 tablespoons margarine to make the roux. Additionally, I added 1/2 cup non-dairy sour cream to help a little with the creaminess. I also did what the others did, by adding 1/4 tsp pepper, 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp parsley and garlic powder, 1 tbls worcestershire sauce, and 3 tbls tomato sauce. Don't forget to let the soup simmer for at elast 30 mins, stirring occasionally. This soup did not taste like flour or almonds, but had a great light taste that complimented the lobster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
We make this for Christmas dinner as and alternative to turkey ( we eat that on boxing day). I use paprika instead of cayenne and one cup of half/half and one cup milk for a creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I really enjoyed this! I also followed the advice of another poster and added more spice to give it some kick as well as 2-3 TBL of tomato paste for some color. In addition, I used 1C half & half as well as fat free half & half instead of milk. It was nice and creamy. Then I kinda "cheated" an added a couple cubed new potatoes (I know, it makes it more a chowder than a bisque but I really wanted it to have more texture). But I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gehbienes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I really liked it. I had to make a few adjustments. I didn't put as many onions in it and I added a little more flour. We loved it and I will be using this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This was an excellent base recipe!!! I doubled the recipe and ended up using 3 cups of chicken stock and 1 can of evaporated milk. It came out perfectly creamy! I blended up half the contents to make it a half bisque/half lobster stew and this added to the creamyness of it. I also added more worcestershire sauce and onions that the recipe called for. It is spectacular!!! I think that you can't go wrong with this recipe or adjusting it to your particular tastes. I definitely recommend blending half the contents as this makes it a really nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States