Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I made this last night using the suggestions from Michi in Miami. It is so easy and elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This bisque is AWESOME!! I've always loved lobster bisque and now that my husband catches lobster a lot, I decided to try out some lobster recipes myself. I used a lot of the advice that others gave and I'm so glad that I did. I used 1 shallot rather than regular onion. To replace the milk, I used 1 cup half and half, 1/2 cup heavy cream, 1/2 cup skim milk (the only milk I had in the house). I increased the amount of Worcestershire sauce to 1 tablespoon and cayenne pepper to 1/2 teaspoon. I also added 3 tablespoons of tomato puree and about 1/2 cup parsley near the end. I didn't want to overcook the lobster so I let the sauce simmer for about 30 minutes, then added the nearly fully cooked lobster (which I sauteed with butter, shallots and garlic) to the sauce to simmer for another 30 minutes. SO TASTY! If you prefer a mild taste, reduce the cayenne pepper. 1/2 teaspoon gives a nice kick which I loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I have made this bisque several times, now. The changes I made were mostly from reviewer Michi's Oct. 2003 review. The only other change I made was to add some sherry to taste. You can not have a good lobster bisque without sherry. I have also made this using the imitation seafood combos that are a lot cheaper and it was great. Oh, and I use seafood stock or clam juice instead of chicken stock. Sounds like a lot of changes, but really the base recipe is very good and the joy of cooking is to make it like you like it. Thanks, Wilma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I took 2 cans of chicken broth and simmered my leftover lobster tail shells-4- to make a seafood broth. Then I did as others, doubled the butter, flour, 3 TBSP tomato paste, added 2 TBSP worcestershire sauce, 1/4 tsp celery salt, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 2 tsp Old Bay Seasonsing. Used 1 pint of half and half. Simmered for an hour. Added in my lobster tails at the end and then used my emmersion blender to make it smooth. Poured in about 1/4 cup of sherry to serve...YUM!UPDATE!! 2/24/2014: This time I steamed my lobster in a dark lager and a light lager. I will always cook it this way...it came out perfect!!! 8 minutes for 2 large lobster tails. I reduced the liquid with the leftover lobster shells until it made a rich broth, about 2 cups. I added a TBSP of Better than Bouillon to give it a richer flavor. I sautéed a large shallot in the leftover "lobster dipping butter", added an equal amount of flour and cooked that for about a minute, added the lobster broth, 2 TBSP Worcestershire sauce, 3 TBSP tomato paste, celery seed, nutmeg, white pepper, 2 tsp. Old Bay Seasoning and a pinch of nutmeg. After that thickened, I emulsified it and then simmered it before adding HALF of the NON FAT half and half. Simmered it and now I am waiting for it to meld so that I can finish it off with the rest of the cream, sprinkling it with cooked chopped lobster and some sherry. Drooling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I made this bisque a few months back and it was the best I've ever had. I tried to find the recipe again and had a rough time. I tried another and it was nowhere near as good as this one. I'm sooooo relieved I found it again!! My man can't stop telling me how amazing it is as he gobbles every last bite. The reason I tried this to begin with is because I had all the ingredients, minus the lobster. Several others were more complicated and I didn't have everything. Seems simple is best! I have added to my favorites and again am very happy I found this again after not writing it down! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This recipe was very quick and easy to make. Tastes good. Defnitely add the tomato paste as suggested by other reviews. It helps with the colour and adds a bit of flavour but doesn't overpower the lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
i thought this was ok, it was a little bland but still decent. not sure if i would make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~KC~formally YoungCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
We're not big seafood eaters and I had some langoustinos I didn't know how to cook. After reading about 40 reviews of this recipe I figured I could fake my way to something great with the ingredients I had as the recipe seems very forgiving. I doubled the roux to 3-4T flour and the same of butter, used 1.5 onions, diced and sauteed, no garlic(!), about a quart of veggy stock, a couple cups of milk, maybe a cup of cream, about 3-4 T of tomato paste, some frozen chopped spinach, and 12oz of chopped pre-cooked langoustinos. While the end result was probably more a soup than a bisque, it was really quite tasty; even my two year old ate it happily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Excellent! I added about 1/4 cup of Sherry and it tasted like the best bisque I've ever had in any restaurant. Won't be paying big bucks for this anymore now that I know how easy it is to make! I used lactose free milk and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diannapop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was the best and I could not have found a better recipe. As with all the others, I made the same changes; doubled the butter/flour, used 1cup whipping cream, 1/2 c half and half and 1/2 c milk. Added more worchestire and cayene and added 2 tbl ketchup (did not have tomato paste on hand) This was awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States