Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Super bomb! I made this for valentines day, used six lobster tails, made the stock from the tails, didn't have paste so used two tsp catsup, added dried pepper flakes instead of cayenne, and more seasonings and worst. like the other reviewers. The next day I made crab bisque with left over king crab meat (we ate too much bisque to finish the crab) this time i used tom. paste and white wine, it wasn't near as good with the paste/wine, but still good had we had not just had the OUTSTANDING lobster version we'd probably have liked it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daizy7155

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Honestly, Nothing beats this recipe.. I cook like a 5 star hotel chef! But yes, must sub the milk with whip cream or heavy cream. and more pepper, simmer is the key 1hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sappy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This recipe is outstanding! After the first bite we started giggling because it was *so good* that we couldn't believe that it came out of our kitchen! I served it with fresh bread and a salad, and it was absolutely perfect. Like others, I doctored the recipe a little. I used more butter & flour (4 Tb of each), and I added two healthy sprinkles of cayenne pepper, and two shakes of Northwoods seasoning (similar to Old Bay). We both thought that the cayenne was integral to the recipe... but couldn't have identified it if we hadn't known what was in there. It just gave the soup a depth that would have been missing otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I followed the directions, and switched out the milk for half-and-half, and it had a decent consistency. Unfortunately, it seems that 1 lb of crab meat was way too much. I'd do like half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
see other reviews first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren D
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
For a simple soup this is definatly a 5 star recipe. After reading the reviews I decided to add 1 teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce, 4 tablespoons of butter and 4 tablespoons of flour. I also chopped the onions, but my husband and I agree not to chop them again. With the lobster we shredded it, and it kept the soup hearty. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This was easier to make that I thought it would be. I couldn't get lobster because the commissary didn't have any, so I used crab meat instead. I only gave it 4 stars in part because we didn't care for it that much. I will try it again with lobster though, but if I can't find lobster I might try it with scallops. I think that crab meat was a poor substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by algwinnup

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Island, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This one was just ok. It was definitely bland for our taste, and that was after already adding creole seasoning and the cayenne pepper. I might make it again, if I could figure out what was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I minced my onions and added about 2 tbsp total of W sauce. It was fantastic and a great base for any kind of bisque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentturnip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geraldton, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 81-90 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States