Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
great base recipe on it's own, I added corn and used crab. Simply delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Very good. I still need to tweak. First of all I needed to make it gluten free... I used sorghum flour and a pinch of xanthan gum. Seemed to work well. Next I added about 3/4 c. rendered sherry, tripled the butter and used half-and-half instead of milk. Only about 14 oz lobster meat. Tried to emulsify with an immersion blender but the meat resisted a great deal. Next time I will add more worcestershire... I did add a little extra cayenne and salt and that punched it up some, but I think it can get better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
We followed suggestions. We doubled the recipe and we used 2 cups of milk, 2 cups of cream and a little over a lb of lobster. Chopped two shallots and satueed in chicken broth. Then added the Cayanne Pepper and Worchester Sauce to taste. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This bisque was great! Like most people, I made a few changes. First, my fiance is lactose intolerant so I made it with Lactaid whole milk and it still came out very creamy. Second, I added a little Old Bay and extra W. sauce. Finally, I let it cook for about 30 minutes on low heat. It was really perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I loved this recipe! I had bought some little cooked lobster tails, about shrimp size, from Trader Joe's and they worked perfect for this. I used skim milk for half and nonfat half and half for the rest. Who needs to clog their arteries, just for a good soup? I would mince the onions next time, I think. I also added a little more cayenne, which gives a nice touch of heat to the sweet lobster. My family loved it and I will definitely be trying it again. Maybe with crab, next time. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This was GREAT ! I did make my own changes, I did not add worchestershire sauce or cayenne pepper, I used about 2 tablespoons of red onion, and I added garlic and sundried tomatoes, both minced as small as I could get them. I also used about 2 tablespoons of dry sherry, a pinch of black pepper, and about 2 teaspoons of old bay. It was INCREDIBLY easy to make, I believe the prep time is what took me the longest with the cutting of my red onion, garlic, and sundried tomatoes, and instead of lobster I used shrimp, crabmeat, and pan seared scallops. To cook this maybe took all of ten minutes, maybe 15, but it was worth the wait. It was great, the best bisque I've ever had, will be living off of this recipe when the winter hits !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. It had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This recipe is greatly enhanced if you use a fish/shellfish/seafood stock instead of chicken broth. That and you should add Michi in Miami's modifications. Then it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
AMAZING with the following suggestions taken from here: saute chopped onion and 2 minced cloves of garlic in olive oil before adding chicken broth, whisk 3 tbs butter with 3 tbs flour, use 1 cup half & half, 1 cup skim milk, 1/2 cup white wine, 1 tsp Worcestershire, 1/4 tsp cayenne, 1/4 tsp paprika, 1/4 teaspoon thyme, 2 cups lobster, simmer on low for an hour. Found this to be the perfect consistency, spice, and amount for 2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This recipe was very easy and extremely good. I used crab and heavy whipping cream. I also added a bit of black pepper and took an extra cup of the whipping cream and beat it til it was light and fluffy and slowly folded it in to make it a bit thicker. I floated a few pieces of crab on top of each individual bowl and sprinkled a little parsley over the floating crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States