Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
While the bisque itself was quite tasty it was barely enough for the 4 servings. I would say it was more like 2 or 3. Not really worth the time or money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This WON my boyfriend over!!!! Only changes I made was that I used 1 pound of crawfish (readily available in the freezer at Walmart for about 7 bucks) and I added a splash of Zattarran's Shrimp and Crab boil, with fresh cracked black pepper just before serving....FANTASTIC!!!! Very easy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I tried this with crawfish tails. Delicious and cheaper than lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Very good basic and simple recipe. I added a bit more worsteshire, some garlic, used half milk/half heavy cream,and cayenne as other reviewers did, however, I also added a little of Sherry which really gave it the taste I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
great base recipe on it's own, I added corn and used crab. Simply delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Very good. I still need to tweak. First of all I needed to make it gluten free... I used sorghum flour and a pinch of xanthan gum. Seemed to work well. Next I added about 3/4 c. rendered sherry, tripled the butter and used half-and-half instead of milk. Only about 14 oz lobster meat. Tried to emulsify with an immersion blender but the meat resisted a great deal. Next time I will add more worcestershire... I did add a little extra cayenne and salt and that punched it up some, but I think it can get better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
We followed suggestions. We doubled the recipe and we used 2 cups of milk, 2 cups of cream and a little over a lb of lobster. Chopped two shallots and satueed in chicken broth. Then added the Cayanne Pepper and Worchester Sauce to taste. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This bisque was great! Like most people, I made a few changes. First, my fiance is lactose intolerant so I made it with Lactaid whole milk and it still came out very creamy. Second, I added a little Old Bay and extra W. sauce. Finally, I let it cook for about 30 minutes on low heat. It was really perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I loved this recipe! I had bought some little cooked lobster tails, about shrimp size, from Trader Joe's and they worked perfect for this. I used skim milk for half and nonfat half and half for the rest. Who needs to clog their arteries, just for a good soup? I would mince the onions next time, I think. I also added a little more cayenne, which gives a nice touch of heat to the sweet lobster. My family loved it and I will definitely be trying it again. Maybe with crab, next time. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This was GREAT ! I did make my own changes, I did not add worchestershire sauce or cayenne pepper, I used about 2 tablespoons of red onion, and I added garlic and sundried tomatoes, both minced as small as I could get them. I also used about 2 tablespoons of dry sherry, a pinch of black pepper, and about 2 teaspoons of old bay. It was INCREDIBLY easy to make, I believe the prep time is what took me the longest with the cutting of my red onion, garlic, and sundried tomatoes, and instead of lobster I used shrimp, crabmeat, and pan seared scallops. To cook this maybe took all of ten minutes, maybe 15, but it was worth the wait. It was great, the best bisque I've ever had, will be living off of this recipe when the winter hits !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States