Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This bisque was great! Like most people, I made a few changes. First, my fiance is lactose intolerant so I made it with Lactaid whole milk and it still came out very creamy. Second, I added a little Old Bay and extra W. sauce. Finally, I let it cook for about 30 minutes on low heat. It was really perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I loved this recipe! I had bought some little cooked lobster tails, about shrimp size, from Trader Joe's and they worked perfect for this. I used skim milk for half and nonfat half and half for the rest. Who needs to clog their arteries, just for a good soup? I would mince the onions next time, I think. I also added a little more cayenne, which gives a nice touch of heat to the sweet lobster. My family loved it and I will definitely be trying it again. Maybe with crab, next time. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This was GREAT ! I did make my own changes, I did not add worchestershire sauce or cayenne pepper, I used about 2 tablespoons of red onion, and I added garlic and sundried tomatoes, both minced as small as I could get them. I also used about 2 tablespoons of dry sherry, a pinch of black pepper, and about 2 teaspoons of old bay. It was INCREDIBLY easy to make, I believe the prep time is what took me the longest with the cutting of my red onion, garlic, and sundried tomatoes, and instead of lobster I used shrimp, crabmeat, and pan seared scallops. To cook this maybe took all of ten minutes, maybe 15, but it was worth the wait. It was great, the best bisque I've ever had, will be living off of this recipe when the winter hits !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. It had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This recipe is greatly enhanced if you use a fish/shellfish/seafood stock instead of chicken broth. That and you should add Michi in Miami's modifications. Then it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
AMAZING with the following suggestions taken from here: saute chopped onion and 2 minced cloves of garlic in olive oil before adding chicken broth, whisk 3 tbs butter with 3 tbs flour, use 1 cup half & half, 1 cup skim milk, 1/2 cup white wine, 1 tsp Worcestershire, 1/4 tsp cayenne, 1/4 tsp paprika, 1/4 teaspoon thyme, 2 cups lobster, simmer on low for an hour. Found this to be the perfect consistency, spice, and amount for 2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This recipe was very easy and extremely good. I used crab and heavy whipping cream. I also added a bit of black pepper and took an extra cup of the whipping cream and beat it til it was light and fluffy and slowly folded it in to make it a bit thicker. I floated a few pieces of crab on top of each individual bowl and sprinkled a little parsley over the floating crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Super easy. We substituted crawfish meat for lobster and it was great. I bet its even better with lobster. My husband thought it would be really good as a sauce over pasta if it were a bit thicker, I'll give that a go next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
We enjoyed it and I liked that it was made with milk instead of cream. Next time I would use less lobster and cut it smaller. I would put a little more onion, worcestershire and cayenne. I have already started thinking about other ways to use the base of the soup like adding chicken and corn instead of lobster. Lots of options!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This recipe is so good! I used heavy cream instead of milk cuz I had some left to get rid of and added a pinch more of the cayenne pepper. Thank you for sharing it. I will be making this a regular part of our menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwaj1988

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States