Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Use 1 cup heavy cream / 1 cup milk Sherry to taste Seafood Stock 3 TBS tomato puree increase Worcestershire and Cayenne Shallots and Onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vestal, New York, USA
Living In: Moneta, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Very good - I added 1/4 cup sherry, increase worst. sauce, added pepper, added cornstarch (1 tsp with water) to thicken, parsley, and garlic. I skipped the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This is an amazing soup! So easy. I've never made any seafood soups, and this was better than anything I've ever had at anywhere! I'll be making it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Very quick & easy, and of course delicious! I also used a few alterations: I boiled fresh shrimp & lobster until almost done, then simmered the boiling liquid and used 1 cup of that instead of the the chicken broth. instead of 2 cups milk: I used 1 cup milk, 1 cup heavy whipping cream. Added: 1/4 tsp. white pepper 1/4 tsp. garlic powder 2 tablespoons good chardonnay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
While the bisque itself was quite tasty it was barely enough for the 4 servings. I would say it was more like 2 or 3. Not really worth the time or money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This WON my boyfriend over!!!! Only changes I made was that I used 1 pound of crawfish (readily available in the freezer at Walmart for about 7 bucks) and I added a splash of Zattarran's Shrimp and Crab boil, with fresh cracked black pepper just before serving....FANTASTIC!!!! Very easy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I tried this with crawfish tails. Delicious and cheaper than lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Very good basic and simple recipe. I added a bit more worsteshire, some garlic, used half milk/half heavy cream,and cayenne as other reviewers did, however, I also added a little of Sherry which really gave it the taste I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
great base recipe on it's own, I added corn and used crab. Simply delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Very good. I still need to tweak. First of all I needed to make it gluten free... I used sorghum flour and a pinch of xanthan gum. Seemed to work well. Next I added about 3/4 c. rendered sherry, tripled the butter and used half-and-half instead of milk. Only about 14 oz lobster meat. Tried to emulsify with an immersion blender but the meat resisted a great deal. Next time I will add more worcestershire... I did add a little extra cayenne and salt and that punched it up some, but I think it can get better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States