Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
This was fabulous! I made some minor changes just based on the amount of things I had on hand, but basically followed the recipe. Very easy to make! The reviewer that said to puree or finely chop some of the lobster was right on...that gave it the perfect texture. I will make this again and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I used Better Than Bouillon lobster base, chopped the onions, added more pepper and added a few tbsp. of tomato paste like another reviewer suggested. LOVE IT. Thank you. My whole family loves it, little kids included.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Hanley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Boog
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Fantastic!, I did a couple of different things thanks to some previous suggestions. I had left over crawfish tails from a crawfish boil so used that instead of lobster. 1 cup whipping cream , 1/2 cup half and half and 1/2 cup whole milk. Onion was diced and also added little bit of green onion at the end. I added 1/2 cup of frozen white corn, talk about yummy! 3 pinches of cayenne and little more salt. My teenager loved it! Thank you for sharing this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Made the change of using heay whipping cream.. Sauted shrimp and used the remaining butter in the bisque. Made sure I added lots of lobster meat, but also made sure I was very careful how much cayenne pepper was added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Union, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Simple, yet delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Night Owl
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Such a wonderful bisque to make. Mind you it is impossible to follow the recipe. You find yourself throwing in extra broth here, some more spices there, thickening it up some more with flour/cornstarch. Everybody just has a preferrence and that's okay. I think this recipe is easy to toy with. My recommendations are as follows. . . -use whipping cream as opposed to milk (keep it on low and constantly stir as to not let it scorch or settle) -use more worcestershire and just an eencie bit more cayenne or tobasco. -depending on what kind of bisque you like either chop up the lobster finely and have your bisque chunky, or cool it down once its all put together and blend it to really combine the ingredients. . . -Lastly, I don't know about all of you but if you have a fresh lobster to use, barbecue that bad boy with some gnarly add ons (lemon, garlic, worcestershire, pepper, etc) just to get your meat prefunked before it goes in the pot. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Night Owl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duvall, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Very good base recipe, but like others, I needed to tweak it a bit. It is now one of my favorites in our dinner/lunch rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This just tasted odd to me but my husband enjoyed it. I don't think I'll make this again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanie Mowry Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bremen, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I did not try this as written but used m in miami's suggestions about cream, tomato, cyanne, etc and turned out great. Tip: if using immiation meat puree it first with milk if you like bisque texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyKat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I think the flavor of this dish was ok, nothing exceptional, but it was a little on the thin side and didn't quite live up to my expectations. Hubby said it was good, but I'm not sure he wasn't just complimenting the effort of making him an entire seafood dinner. I'll give it another shot eventually - hopefully I just didn't do something quite right since everyone else has rated it so highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States