Lobster Bisque II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
this is quick and easy recipe. It's not bad- If taste is not important to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
Simple, Delicious and elegant! This was the perfiect second course for my light three course dinner on Valentine's Day! Thank-you! Rich, yet smooth and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
This was really bland, kind of like lobster meat floating in thickened milk. The best part about it was the lobster meat, which would have been better used in another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
This was not at all what I was expecting. It is very easy to make, but there is no taste to it...AT ALL. I tried to spice it up by adding a can of creamy tomato soup. It helped a little, but not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
I tried out this recipe a little while ago, and with a couple substitutions, it was great. Neither myself or my husband like onions so I omitted them, then added cayenne for a bit of a hot flick, and wow!!! I was amazed at how close it got to restaurant quality, if you like spice try the cayenne, its worth it:) thanks for the great recipe base!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
I made this and shared it with my co-workers for an office luncheon... they have been begging me to make it again ever since!!! I added just a dash of cayenne to the recipe - just enough to add a little flavor and not a lot of heat. It was absolutely wonderful. Thank you. updated changes(8/17/07): added about a tblspoon of tomato paste before adding half and half; used cream sherry instead of dry sherry; added two slices of american cheese with the half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hardwick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ware, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I thought this recipe was horrible. I was highly disappointed with the way it turned out. As someone else stated, it tasted like warm milk with lobster cubes in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I would suggest that when making bisque, you allow it to mellow overnight. The flavors are much more intense when the lobster infuses the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
i agree with others - very bland. even my husband thought it tasted like warm flour. i added more sherry, some white wine, old bay seasoning and a dash or two of worcestershire sauce to give it some taste and probably put in 2 cups of cooked lobster. after letting it simmer for almost an hour, we had more taste. i love my lobster. ended up with a good bisque, but wanted a fabulous bisque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
Great base recipe!!! I added three table spoons of tomato paste, for the wow factor. Half a tea spoon of chili peppers. I like a little heat. Doubled the veggies and added two small Yukon gold potatoes; made the soup thick. Quarter of a tea spoon of fresh ground black pepper. My food is spicy and so is my life. Two table spoons of crushed garlic. Just enough to scare vampires away.(: Four table spoons of fish sauce. Gave it that sea food taste I was looking for. Two cups of half and half cream. The extra cream smoothed everything out. Then I blended it all in my Blendtec blender and back on the stove for 5 minutes on low. Thick creamy full flavored rich and spicy lobster bisque soup to die for. Yum yum!!! Omit chili peppers if you don't like heat. Ranger out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lonely Ranger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States