Lobster Bisque I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I was looking for a recipe for leftover lobster and this is just what I wanted. It's a hit! Don't change a thing. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Brava!!!! I had to tweek a bit due to what I had on hand but this ended up first rate. I used Better than Boullion Lobster Base, check Whole Foods, Central Market, or the like. (Don't even think about using the recipe on the jar) Use glass jar tomatoes or fresh to avoid the horrible "tin" taste, the skin and seeds strain out with everything else. I ended up with a bit more sherry and used half and half instead of heavy cream and fresh grated nutmeg then added a wee dash of cayenne, easy does it, the hot did intensify but added so much to the end result. I forgot to buy fresh tarragon so I added a pinch of dried every so often during the cooking process not wanting to over do it.I cannot wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This is a pretty good starting recipe, but as with all recipes I made substantial changes to it. I was able to find a lobster boullion sauce that I substituted for the broth it called for, which gave the bisque a rich flavor. Also, I didn't strain the soup base but rather, pureed it in batches after cooking the veggies. I doubled the amount of butter to make the flour paste, and I used a can of diced tomatoes and 3 tbs of tomato paste instead of the tomato puree. I only added about 1/2ts of tarragon because of how strong the flavor of this herb is. I followed other posters' suggestions and set 1/2 of the lobster aside and chunked it into the soup after pureeing. I'm going to buy another lobster and cut up the meat and add it to the leftovers because it still wasn't quite chunky enough for my taste. All in all though this is a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This was my first attempt at lobster bisque. This was pretty easy to follow. I could not find fish stock in our store so I substituted chick broth. Also, I chose to use uncooked prepackaged meat. It was nice time saver not having to strain for the shells. Added worcheser sauce and red pepper Overall this was a great experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I was very intimidated by this recipe, so much so that I almost didn't make it. I'm SO glad I did! It was delicious. I couldn't find fish stock at my market so I went to an Asain market and found fish boullion instead. I only strained the stock once with a spaghetti strainer, and not for a second time with muslin. I used one cup of tomato puree because the biggest complaint in the reviews was a strong tomato flavor. I also reserved about 4 ounces of the lobster meat and cut it into chunks. I stirred it in at the very end. This was my first time using fresh tarragon... don't even think of trying this soup with out it! It adds a great licorice flavor. This was decadent and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This was delicious! I used wild slipper Lobster meat with no shell and instead of fish stock I used "Better than Boullion" Lobster base that I found at my local fish market. There is no fussing with the shells and the lobster was quite a bit less expensive too! Bon apetite. This makes closer to 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mussey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
This recipe was delicious- but I doctored it quite a bit. Great texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
I may be the odd ball here, but this was not very good at all. Seems like it had too much tomato in it. The tomato way overpowered everthing else. It was just tomato soup with other stuff in it. My husband will eat almost anything. He didn't eat this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Wonderful! My husband and I LOVE lobster bisque, and this was right up there with the best we've eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States