Loaded Potato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
A very good start to potato soup. I first tried it with just salt and pepper and it was much too bland. Onion powder, garlic powder, and minced garlic were added and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Comfort, Texas, USA
Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Don't get me wrong this was good...I have had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Very yummy soup. My family of pickie eater loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This recipe is great as is, but sometimes I use canned diced potatoes or boiled potatoes. Microwaved potatoes tend to lose their shape and make the soup sort of grainy (IMHO). I'm not quite sure some reviewers have had problems with this soup. I would think most would understand that you need to add the sour cream after the soup has cooled slightly; don't add while soup is simmering or it could cause separation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This recipe turned out great! My husband and I loved it. I made a few changes to it though. I used 6 cups milk and 2 cups half and half because I ran out of milk. I also fried up a 1/2 lb of bacon before cooking the rest of the recipe. After mixing the butter, flour, and milk and bringing to a boil, I added the bacon drippings. I also added some garlic salt. Finally, we chopped the cooked bacon and some green onions and used them as toppings for the soup. It turned out fantastic! I'll be making this again with the small changes mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Grimes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This was a great soup! My husband, who doesn't eat potato soup, absolutely loved it! The sour cream and cheese were the big difference in an otherwise bland soup. I did use a lot more cheese, however: for the normal recipe I increased it to 2 cups and also added 1 tsp of dill weed. I made double the recipe and it disappeared in two days. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANTIH9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I have been making this soup for a couple of years. I just decided to write a review and to see what others were saying. This soup is the best. I always make it a day ahead so the flavors blend together. I add chopped green onion to the soup and serve it with green onion and bacon bits. Whenever there is a family get together I am asked to bring this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I tried this receipe and loved it! My family said it was the best potato soup they have ever tried. I did add some cheese, chopped green onions and bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This recipe was great! I improvised a little and here were my changes: After adding the milk to the butter/flour cooked mixture (or roux), I added the seasoning packet from Uncle Ben's Long Grain & Wild Rice (the Original Recipe). It has 23 Herbs and Seasoning and made quite a tasty addtion to the flavor of this soup! I added 1 cup of cheddar cheese instead of 1/2 cup too. Other than those additions, I kept the recipe the same. It was sooooooooooooo good! Then I served it with real bacon bits and cheddar cheese on the side for those who wanted to add them. It was a hit and I will make this again for sure. Next time I want to add some cut up and cooked baby carrots to add more color and vitamins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boona

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States